• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 315,024 Visitors

Giving Thanks – Giveaways

Yay! It’s Thanksgiving week.  This is my favorite holiday–a time for family fellowship, delicious food, and a time to be thankful for our blessings.  Even amidst tough recessional times, we always have things to be thankful for, and usually it’s the things that matter most.

I’m thankful for my wonderful husband and adorable son.  They keep me laughing, and they keep my feet grounded when times are rough.  Let’s face it, the road of parenthood is anything but smooth, but at least it’s adventurous and enriching.  My life is so much fuller because of my amazing family.

I’m also thankful for my blessed Savior, Christ Jesus.  In spite of the wretched and sinful wreck that I am, He called me His own and accepted me into his flock.

I’m very thankful to all of you who continue to read my posts.  You know there are days when I’m all over the place with my writing, or there are times I’ve been silent, but you’ve stuck with me.  Thank you!

Things have been rather chaotic hectic insane stressful busy lately with starting up a practice while Calvin’s been teething and getting over a very nasty cold.  There are only so many hours in a day.  I only have 2 hands, and most of the time I use them to take care of my son instead of do things to get the business side of the practice organized, so, we’re a little behind schedule.

As a result, I need to reorganize my blogging commitments so I can do my best to stay on track with everything.  Here’s where I’d love feedback from YOU!  Help me make Traveling with Baby the exceptional blog you’ve grown to love.

What do you enjoy most about visiting this site? Do you love the Calvin photos?  The posts on natural, wholesome health? Posts on motherhood?  Posts on travel?  Other than the product reviews and giveaways, tell me what you look forward to reading, and I’ll make a point to keep your faves as I streamline this blog.

__________________________________________________________________________

I’m a big fan of babywearing.  If I could sew and design the ultimate baby carrier, I would.  But since that’s not one of my skills, I defer to the creators and distributors of some of the best baby carriers around. Kristen at Along for the Ride is giving away an embroidered Ergo Baby Carrier Hands Free System.

Of course, I want to give thanks by providing a couple of giveaways of my own.

Giveaway #1:

treasury20storybooksScholastic just released Treasury of 20 Storybook Classics on 4 DVDs.  The Scholastic stories you and your youngsters have grown to love are brought to life on the little screen.  This fantastic set includes my personal favorite The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary.  There are over 4 hours of story-time fun for ages 2 through 8 in this award-winning treasury (Caldecott Medal, NAPPA Gold Award, and Parents’ Choice Gold Medal among 32 others).  From Karma Wilson’s best-sellers Bear Snores On and Bear Wants More to my personal favorite, Beverly Cleary’s classic The Mouse and the Motorcycle, the entire family is sure to adore these treasures featuring celebrity narration by Sean Hayes, James Naughton, B.D. Wong, and others.  The read-along feature, truly makes this set edu-tainment for young readers.  Make the Treasury of 20 Storybook Classics part of your library today by ordering online. You can also win your own set here at TWB, retail value $29.95.

Giveaway #2:

The December I turned 6-years-old, I visited my grandparents in Washington state (we drove ALL the way from Texas).  My grandmother taught me to memorize T’was the Night Before Christmas.  I loved that poem, and I recited it for the entire family when we gathered to celebrate Christmas.  I love the beautiful imagery that it conjures up.  I hope that reciting T’was the Night Before Christmas along with  reading about the birth of Christ in the book of Luke become part of our household Christmas traditions for years to come.

nightbeforechristmassstdvd-ns1As a 6-year-old, I was able to read the poem, and my grandmother recited it to me numerous times which helped me to learn it as a child.  But, with today’s DVD technology, even pre-schoolers can learn it with Scholastic’s Storybook Treasures: The Night Before Christmas…and More Classic Holiday Tales come to life.  The award-winning DVD features 7 stories plus the Spanish version of Too Many Tamales. Louise August’s In the Month of Kislev, teaches children about true meaning of Hannukkah and a little about yummy potato pancakes.  Alfre Woodard narrates Seven Candles for Kwanzaa.  And, Anthony Edwards narrates the classic poem by Clement Clarke Moore, The Night Before Christmas.  Get all of your holiday tales in this lovely treasure which is perfect for every family’s DVD library.  73 minutes of storytime for ages 3 through 9.  Order yours online, or win your own copy here at TWB, retail value $14.95.

May your family be richly blessed with love, fellowship and thankfulness this Thanksgiving!

____________________________________________________________________________

Fine print:

Two winners will be selected for The Night Before Christmas DVD, and one winner will be selected for the 20 Storybook Treasury (via random.org)  To enter, leave a comment answering the questions above in red telling me what features and posts on TWB you’ve enjoyed reading and that you’d love for me to continue posting as I streamline this blog.  In your comment, please indicate which DVD you’d prefer to win.  Dibs goes to the first randomly drawn name, but hey, there are 3 winners, so you do have increased odds of winning something fun for your family!

Make sure you leave a valid e-mail address, so I can contact you to claim your prize, or it’ll go to another amazing person.  This contest is open to U.S. only.

This contest runs until 11:59PM (EST) on November 30, 2008.

Two winners will be randomly selected (via random.org) and announced on this post and e-mailed sometime shortly after December 1st. If a winner(s) doesn’t respond within 72 hours, a new winner will be selected.

Posted by Dr. Dolly on Traveling with Baby
9 Responses

  1. I just started reading your blogs and love the honesty & humor in the mom blogs! I also have interests in cloth diapers, nursing & nutrition. Keep up the great work, and Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Actually, I like it all. A smorgasbord is nice. The balance between Calvin photos, motherhood, travel, giveaways. That’s why you have a great blog! In addition to that I like reading other’s point of views. As a mom, we are all trying to do the very best for our children…and it’s those children that bring us together! Keep up the great work!

    The Treasury of 20 Storybook Classics is my choice.

    seeryusfam@msn.com

  3. i’d say i like most all of it, my favorite being something the previous poster mentioned, “other points of view”. Probably for me, esp. when you put on your “Dr. Dolly” hat & share opinions on natural parenting/feeding ideas & the flex you have between ‘philosophies’, being attentive to what Calvin & your family need in each moment vs. being stuck in a box w/ideas on what “the rules” are. Refreshing. :)

  4. I love photograpny…especially of children. So, I always enjoy seeing pictures of little Calvin. So adorable!! Your photos give me inspiration to continue learning more about the art. Thanks!

    If chosen, we’d love the Scholastic Storybook Set DVDs. m_huston(at)hotmail(dot)com

  5. I’m a fairly new reader, but I’ve really enjoyed the posts on travel along with the baby pix!! I have also been excited to your links on your side bar about signing. We have a 4 year old daughter with special needs and signing made our life SO much easier!! So as far as any other posts I’d like to see anything that relates to alternative forms of communication and special needs products especially. Love your blog so far and can’t wait to read future posts!!

    Oh, and we’d love to have the scholastic DVDs – our daughter’s favorite book is “Bear Snores On”!! Thanks so much!!

  6. I have also just started reading your blog. I love blogs that talk about motherhood. Sometimes it’s just nice to know that your not the only one who feels the same way you do. I also love to look at pictures because it helps to identify with your blog. Thanks for the chance to win this. I would like the scholastic storybook set dvds if I won. Thanks again.

  7. I mostly enjoy your travelling stories, and your motherhood posts. I read a LOT of mom blogs and feel that you are very honest and upbeat (not everyone admits it hard when their hubbys away). – but saying that sounds neagative, I mean it IS hard and its good to hear it!
    Life isn’t always plain sailing and easy! – and it’s great to read that and not just think it ourselves. That is the reason I pop my head in, but it’s a good all round blog, I enjoy Calvin’s potos becuase he is too cute, but not because I understand the nature of art/ photography. (I am a SAHM but I am a BSc in ICT). – so I know all about digitally altering images but that’s where my appreciation ends.
    I enjoy your health/ lifestyle blogs greatly as well. I am not as dedicated as you, but am always doing my bit for the Earth and my family’s health.

    Thanks for your wonderful DVD giveaway, I would dibs The Night Before Christmas please. I am sorry if this is essay – like, it’s my way of saying. I like your blog!

  8. I like your posts on Motherhood most–I can totally understand where your coming from on so many. Next favorite are the posts on health/natural parenting.

    If picked I’d like the Storybook set if available. But we’d love The Night Before Christmas also! Thanks for the chance to win.

  9. I just recently found your blog. But it has great stuff. I like the kid pics and all your mommy humor.

    I’d love the Night before Christmas stuff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

