• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 313,861 Visitors

The Incredible Egg

For a healthy, filling, and inexpensive snack, I love to eat hard boiled eggs.  To dress ‘em up, sometimes I turn them into egg salad which is fun to eat plain, on top of a bed of fresh spinach leaves, or nestled in wholesome bread for a hearty sandwich.

Hard boiled egg snack:

1-2 hard boiled, peeled eggs

add sea salt and cracked black pepper to taste

Egg salad:

slice and cube 4 hard boiled eggs

add 2T of mayonnaise (made from scratch, or purchased from the store)

pinch of sea salt and dash of cracked pepper to taste

1/2 to 1 tsp of dried tarragon

optional: for added color and crunch, add chopped green onions or diced pickles

My entire family loves egg salad.  However, I must admit, I’m not a big fan of the egg cracking/peeling process.  For years, I’ve done the hot water boil, immediately followed by an ice water bath to cool them down enough that I don’t scald my fingers while peeling.  Sometimes I just put them in the fridge and let them cool for a few hours before I work on them.

Well, I just saw a freakingly cool vid by Tim Ferriss on how to de-shell hard boiled eggs without peeling them, and I have to share it with you.  I’m intrigued enough that I’m going to try this technique this weekend, and I’ll let you know how it pans out.

–By Dr. Dolly
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

