• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 311,393 Visitors

How to Not Make a Quiet Book

So, I started to put together the canvas for the pages for the quiet book I’m creating for Calvin.

I’d purchased the muslin and interface and a sweet rotary cutter, so I knew I’d better get started while I was still somewhat motivated.

The basic book pattern for a quiet book that I’m using is from Modest Maven.  However, I think I may want more than just 12 pages, or at least the liberty to add more down the road.

I may change my mind as I go through the process of putting this book together.

I’ve decided to make it a sort of fabric scrapbook/quilt of sorts.  I’ve asked 3 of his grandmothers to help with some of the pages.  They have the freedom to personalize them and use whatever scraps, buttons, or themes they want to use.  I know Calvin will truly treasure it.

That is, as long as I don’t botch up the muslin pages.

Guess what.  I followed the directions in purchasing fabric and medium weight interface.  However, I’ve never used either type of fabric before.  Once everything’s cut and squared up, you’re supposed to apply a warm iron to the interface and muslin so that they fuse.

Well guess what?  They didn’t fuse

I practically burned light brown iron marks on one of the pages trying to get the darned things to fuse.  I guess the interface wasn’t the fusable type…which kinda defeats the purpose of the interface.  I didn’t realize there was a special fabric code I was supposed to read to tell me this sort of thing.  I was just happy to identify medium weight interface from the heavyweight and lightweight versions.

Every 5 minutes, I was asking an employee at Jo-Ann’s fabrics for help in selecting muslin and a rotary cutter.  But darned if I didn’t ask for more specifics about the blasted interface.

So, I ended up sewing the muslin and interface together for six rectangular squares.

I think I messed up one of ‘em enough that I’ll have to re-do it.  Another day, perhaps.

Anyway, if Calvin’s grandmothers are reading this, I’ll do my best to get you something somewhat usable to create a beautiful quiet book page for him.

No, I don’t sew nearly as well, as precisely, or as beautifully as my mom or grandmother, but this is my attempt to contribute something to Calvin that he will cherish from the sewing women in his life.

FYI, the last sewing project I made were very basic curtains.  The hemlines aren’t exactly straight, but I don’t mind.

I’ll post results as I continue this domestic creativity project.

Peace.

–By Dr. Dolly
Twitter me: drdolly
3 Responses

  1. Ah, yes that would probably be the fusible interfacing that you wanted! I know all these choices and it’s hard to find the right one. Hope it works out !

  2. I don’t know if you have finished your book or if you are looking for more ideas, but I have some ideas on my blog. I too wanted a book that was versatile and could have page added when needed. I chose to use metal rings with button holes in the pages. Happy sewing.

  3. Are you still working on the quiet book? I made one (and put together a blog with instructions- http://www.quietbook.blogspot.com), and actually I recommend not even using any interfacing at all between the pages- it will make them really bulky. My pages are just the muslin against muslin, and they work great. My mom originally made her quiet book 35+ years ago like that too and the pages are still in great working order (and are washable!). Just a thought. Good luck and leave me a comment if you run into anymore questions/challenges.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

