• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 315,796 Visitors

Make Your Own Baby Leggings for Less than $2

Leggings TwBI love to see chubby baby legs in soft and cuddly baby leggings.  They’re so adorable!

Five Reasons why baby leggings are awesome:

  1. In cold weather, they’re great as extra warmth underneath pants and socks.
  2. When babywearing, they keep baby’s legs covered.
  3. They’re perfect for middle-of-the-night diaper changes–keeping baby warm and partially covered.
  4. They’re great knee covers that prevent rug burn on creeping and crawling babies.
  5. They’re wonderful for potty training to keep your child’s legs warm, but still allowing the freedom to go to the potty without cumbersome diapers or underpants.

Leggings TwBAs much as I love them, they retail for $10 – $15 per pair, and that doesn’t exactly fit our budget.  So, I decided to learn how to make my own baby leggings from women’s socks.

I can purchase a pack of cute prints of women’s socks for less than $2 per pair and make several sets.  They’re great for newborns to toddlers, and now, they’re my favorite baby shower gift.  Want to learn how to make them, too?

They’re easy…I promise.  If I can do it, ANYONE can do it!

How to Make Your Own Baby Leggings

What you will need:

- Sewing machine with a zig-zag stitch or stitch for stretchy knits.

- matching thread for socks

- scissors

- 1-2 pairs of women’s socks (sold colors are more forgiving for novice sewers.  Patterns around the heel or toes such as stripes, argyle, or various other prints are more advanced.

  1. Purchase a pack of women’s socks on sale at your favorite X-Mart.  (I used mid-calf socks for babies and knee-high socks for toddlers).  There is a brand of toeless socks that is affordable with cute designs…if you can find those, you’ll save yourself two steps!  I found toeless socks for less than $2 per pair.

    Toeless Socks TwB

  2. Spread out the socks and note the slightly different and reinforced knit detail around the heel and toe.  Turn the sock inside-out, and pin the heel together sideways.  For example, if you were to wear a sock, you’d pin it such that you’re pinching the sides of your heel just beneath your ankles from left-to-right (or right-to-left, if you’d prefer!)Sock heel TwBIt’s easy to see the lighter blue heel on these striped socks for the purpose of this tutorial.

  3. Use the pins as your zig-zag guide on the sewing machine. Sew from one-end to the other.  sewing sock heel TwBThe great thing about multi-colored socks is that the color variation serves as a great guide for sewing.  The down-side is that while I can sew a great line on one side, the opposite side tends to not look quite so neat (that’s the thing with knits).  heel stitchOnce again, I emphasize using solid color socks for beginners.  Check both sides of the stitch–I’ve had to pull the stitches and re-do this step again on patterned socks.

  4. After you’ve sewn the heel, use your scissors to snip off the “cup” of the heel on the “cup” or heel side of the stitch. snipping sock TwB

  5. If you’re using socks with toes, repeat steps 2-4 by pinning, sewing, and snipping of the toes.
  6. Finally, trim off any excess threads.  Turn the socks inside out, and voila!  You have your first legging.  Repeat Steps 2-6 with the mate of the sock.finished legging
  7. Check out the various pairs I’ve created as gifts for my son, nieces, nephews, and as shower gifts. Different sized socks for younger to older babies.5 pairs TwBClose-up of the smaller pairs with cute dog designs.
  8. Fold them in half, and then tie them with pretty ribbon to give them as a gift!bows TwB
Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly

Digg!

9 Responses

  1. This is such a great idea!

  2. Thanks dolly! I’m going to make several pair of these for tomorrow! It’s one of those things what do you give gals at baby showers that already have everything! lol
    now I need to go and make about 5-10 pr before tomorrow! lol

  3. what a great idea, i have to try this now :)

  4. That is a fantastic idea and THE WORST tutorial I have ever seen in my life. I have no clue what you’re talking about, where I’m sewing or what it’s supposed to look like on my kid!!!

    • Hi Meghany, glad you like the idea. FYI, this was my first tutorial on anything about sewing. What could make this better for you in the future? I’ve posted two photos of my son wearing homemade leggings, but I don’t know what else I could do to help you understand how they would look on your kid. Suggestions?

      • I love the idea and know it will work great for my daughter, we are doing EC so that will keep her legs warm while being able to keep her bare bum!
        But I don’t really understand the tutorial either.
        The pinning of the heel is not exactly clear to me, maybe show where you pinned it from different angles. To me it looks like when you turn the sock inside out you take the bottom of the heel and put it against the top part of the heel but that’s not what you are saying????
        Also if you have closed toe socks how can you just repeat the same steps as for the heels, there would be no opening???? So I’m not sure how that part works either.
        I bought a few pairs of socks and am going to experiment with them.

      • Ahh, ok. The pinning part was hard to explain. So yeah, more photos might do the trick.

  5. This is a great money savng idea; at the beginning of your tutorial like most I was scratching my head (confused), but by the end with the inclusion of the before and after pics it was so clear and easy. Thank you so much for sharing :)

  6. What size of women’s (or men’s) sock do you recommend for baby 6-12 months old and for toddler 18-24 months old? I saw some cute socks on ebay women’s size 9-11, but I am not sure if they would be too loose in the elastic part.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

