• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 313,691 Visitors

For the Expecting Mama: Nursing Clips by Willow Moonspirit

I’ve been thinking about pregnant mamas since Elisa, an author on Traveling with Baby who’s 41 weeks pregnant, is going to meet her son very soon.

Showers are great opportunities to share wonderful blessings with an expectant mom and her little blessing.  However, the holidays are another opportunity to give loving and useful gifts to new parents.

The following are a few of my favorites:

  1. Homemade baby leggings — you can read my tutorial on how to make your own!
  2. A stretchy100% cotton baby wrap carrier – Helps keep baby snuggly close and content while sleeping, nursing, or hanging out with mom.
  3. Nursing clips that convert any blanket or sweater into a breastfeeding cover

I loved the nursing cover that my sister-in-law created for me.  I never left home without it so I could comfortably and modestly nurse in public.

Juliea Paige, owner of Etsy shop Willow Moonspirit, created Gypsy Jewels and Nursing Clips.  Instead of packing a diaper bag full of swaddling cloths, warm blankets, AND a nursing cover, you can lighten your load by just keeping nursing clips with you.

A hand-beaded, 17-inch chain is tipped with silver alligator clips on each end.  With so many color bead options available, it’s hard to choose.  Fortunately, you can customize the colors you or your gift recipient likes.  The beautiful clips are packaged in a beautiful damask-printed draw-string bag–perfect for gift-giving and storing.

These days, I don’t use a nursing cover much with my toddler since breastfeeding is far less frequent during the day.  However, I did try out the clips with a couple of smaller baby blankets while nursing my son.

The necklace part of the chain felt comfortable around my neck with the weight of a blanket.  I could easily change the positioning of the clips on the blanket, as needed.  In it’s storage back, the nursing clips necklace is only a few ounces and easy to find in a diaper bag.

The biggest plus about the nursing clips are that if baby spits up or milk leaks onto a blanket, you can easily throw it in the wash and have another spare blanket or sweater, and you’re ready to go without waiting for a standard nursing cover to come clean in the laundry.  At $13, it’s far more economical than most nursing covers available on the market.

WIN IT!

One winner  will receive a nursing clips by Gypsy Jewels, (retail value $13).

To enter, leave a comment relevant to this post prior to Friday, November 27th at 11:59 p.m.  Please follow the contest rules and avoid any generalized comments, or you will be disqualified.

FOR A SECOND ENTRY: complete a quick 10-question reader demographic survey. Then, leave a second comment telling me that you did.

FOR A THIRD ENTRY: Blog or Tweet about the Holiday Gift Guide (or about this giveaway), then leave a second comment telling me that you tweeted or blogged with a link to your tweet/post.

A gypsy jewel nursing clip was provided for the purpose of this review.  Read Traveling with Baby’s complete disclosure policy.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
Top Photo by Elisa B photography

UPDATE: Congratulations to the winner, #1 Melissa Haynie.

3 Responses

  1. I love the Gypsy Jewels nursing clip. I have been looking at them for a while. I would LOVE to win one! I am going to share you on facebook…. because I don’t tweet and my blog is a family oriented look what your long distance grandkids are doing blog.

  2. The Gypsey Jewels nursing clips look so handy. It would be a great gift for my sister who just had her first baby. She loves green!

  3. Hey! I admire your writing and the way you explain things. Some of the comments on here too are insightful. I appreciate you. keep it up!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

