• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,014 Visitors

Questions often asked of a pregnant woman

We made it to PA in 1.5 days of travel with only 1 overnight stop.  It was fun to see friends along the way, and it broke up the monotony of the trip.  I wish we had more time to stop and play in the cool cities like Savannah and Charlottesville, but we had to press.

The first day in Tunkhannock PA, I experienced a little culture shock as we drove around downtown.  I thought, “Wow, this is NOT my town, and now I have to call this place home.”  I remember the same feeling of dread when we moved to Oklahoma City.  But, at least then, we had our own house, and we had a job and a mission for the good ol’ US Air Force.

When we’ve been here before, we visited for a week or two . . . and now, we will live here for several months.  Luckily, we have access to free internet at the local library.  There aren’t any other WiFi hot spots.  Heck, there isn’t even a Starbucks in town, let alone a Borders or Barnes and Noble.  I think the nearest one of those is 45 minutes away.  I’ll have to find some other place to escape.

We’re going canoeing this week. . . we’ll launch the boat from Steve’s parents backyard into their pond, which is the size of most large lakes in the south.

Steve’s grandparents are great.  They’re super low key and very quiet and peaceful . . . that makes for a very peaceful living arrangement for us.  They’ve even offered to go on vacation for 5 days so I can deliver at the house in privacy.  That’s extremely generous of them!

We attended Steve’s parents’ church yesterday, and I’ve noticed a pattern to the questions that people ask when they know a woman is pregnant:

  1. How are you feeling?
  2. Are you excited?
  3. Is it a boy or girl?

Well, it’s easy to answer the first question, but the second one is wierd.  People expect you to be excited and giddy when you’re pregnant.  That’s not exactly my personality type 95% of the time about much of anything.  So, when I tell people “No, not really” they look at me strangely as if I’m going to be the world’s worst mom who’s already rejected her unborn child. . . so then, I have to go into a brief explanation about how that’s just not my personality.  We’re pleased I’m pregnant and that it has gone pretty well thus far, but we’re taking it one day at a time.  We have to completely trust in God for a healthy pregnancy and delivery.

We won’t know the baby’s gender until we deliver.  I find the reaction of other people quite entertaining.  Most people seem a little impatient and they find it inconvenient to purchase a gift if they don’t yet know if it’s a boy or girl.  Funny thing is I really don’t think the baby will care if it’s wrapped in pink or blue as long as he/she is warm, fed, and allowed to sleep and poop.  What’s wrong with yellow or green?  I like yellow and green…in fact, I like lots of bright colors, and I can say with much certainty that the baby won’t mind one bit.  It’s not like we’re going to be able to decorate a nursery anyway.  The nursery is also our room.  The only decorating I’ll be able to do is curtains–and that is definitely a project for this summer.

One Response

  1. I’m glad to hear we’re not the only ones not going crazy with decorating a room for baby or being desperate to know the sex. We don’t mind finding out early, but it’s not exactly a goal, and I’m not sure I want my kid roped into wearing pink or blue anyway – it’s not like a baby cares, and they can’t distinguish pastels early on anyway!

    Good luck with your pregnancy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

