• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 349,562 Visitors

4th of July fun

We had an awesome Independence Day. Steve did some landscaping work in the morning. By the afternoon, we were on a pontoon boat for a refreshing ride along the Mississippi with Dr. Dennis and his wife Brenda. We stopped along a bank and picked up rocks. Steve and I were entertained with skipping rocks, while Dr. D & Brenda looked for crafty rocks for home decor. Dr. Dennis even found a granite rock that had quartz crystalized in between layers in the shape of a rectangle with a cross in the middle. It was a cool find.

For dinner, Brenda & Dr. Dennis grilled up ribeyes, lamb, and mixed veggies (zucchini, asparagus, and onions). We also enjoyed a fabulous mixed greens salad with pecans, goat cheese, and apples and a lingonberry-yogurt dressing. For dessert, I enjoyed something that my family always enjoys on the 4th of July, strawberry shortcake, except this time it also had raspberries and blueberries–it was a beautiful and patriotic treat.

That night, Steve and I went to a local park to enjoy the 2nd largest fireworks display in the state of Minnesota. We weren’t directly where they fired them off, but a few blocks closer to our apartment–fewer crowds, no traffic issues, and still a spectacular view.

The only bummer were the Minnesota mosquitoes hovering around us. Those buggers are fierce–they will chomp on you through your clothing. Jeans. Those nasty bugs can bite you through jeans! When I went home, I counted up my miserable bites (all through layers of clothing), and I treated them with the only things I had available. I applied a tea tree soap (great for itchy skin), and then I applied a lavendar/apricot/macadamia nut body oil to my skin. When I woke up the next morning, I couldn’t see my bug bites, nor did they itch. Wow! Tea tree oil and lavendar oil are pretty amazing!

I hope all of you had a fun and relaxing Independence Day.

Leave a Reply

