• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,530 Visitors

The Incredible Shrinking Belly

Breastfeeding rocks! The initial uterine contractions post-partum were a little uncomfortable, but catnip tea and crampbark helped to take the edge off the first couple of days. Earlier this week, I noticed the my belly button had gone from flat and level with the rest of my belly back to its normal indented state. And, even though my belly isn’t back to pre-pregnancy state (that’ll be a few more months yet), it’s seriously amazing at how quickly the uterus atrophies and allows the belly to shrink down!

However, without a baby inside to add firmness to the belly, everything still feels a little loose and jiggly. Whenever I laugh, I think about that line from “Twas the Night Before Christmas”

“He had a broad face and a little round belly,

That shook, when he laughed like a bowl full of jelly.”

Yes, that’s EXACTLY what happens when I laugh! My rectus abdominis muscles have been stretched like loose rubber bands. And, once I heal enough to be able to comfortably walk and sit, then I’ll start doing things like squats and other core strengthening to rebuild my muscles.

One Response

  1. Hi Dolly,

    Aaron and I had great fun with the shrinking belly. We called it “sponge belly”. We still laugh about it today. Firming lotion and crunches (don’t start crunches too soon though) will help with that as well. I also recommend making a conscious effort to suck in to start working those stomach muscles again.

Leave a Reply

