• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 345,600 Visitors

What an intro . . .

to motherhood.  Whew!  Moms who told me the first 6 weeks are the toughest weren’t exaggerating one bit.  My 6 weeks were really tough and they ended with a resounding climactic exclamation point.  It’s enough for me to fully and lovingly embrace adoption as an option for future children.  Steve is in complete support.

We love our little Calvin, but the physical toll of childbirth, recovery, and other health issues that go along with being a mom . . . let’s just say that the culmination of those things in such a short period of time is ultimately the most difficult thing I’ve EVER been through physically, mentally, and emotionally.   I’m not just talking about labor and childbirth . . . that was nothing, because that was over in less than half a day. . .it’s what came afterward that I wasn’t exactly prepared for.

Breastfeeding.  Sure, it’s natural, but it doesn’t come naturally.  I think almost every mom I’ve ever talked to had some sort of difficulty with breastfeeding for a first baby.  Yup, not easy, but I’m so determined to see it through for at least 1 year.

I’m on the mend . . . this time for good, I hope.  I really am not kidding when I say I absolutely cannot take one more thing causing me physical pain on top of everything I just went through.  I really need a break from pain so I can enjoy being a mom.  After all, Calvin’s smile just makes me melt.

Leave a Reply

