• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 345,636 Visitors

Misadventures, and then some

Calvin has traveled to numerous states in the past week and a half resulting in 1 auto accident, a trolley ride, and lots of oohs and ahhs by strangers (a lucky few got to hold him!).

On Monday the 14th, Calvin & I were in his Aunt Vicky’s van with her 3 daughters traveling to New York to do some shopping.  On our way home in the early evening, the snow began to fall pretty hard.  We were on a back road and the plow hadn’t yet made its way down our side of the road.  In fact, it had just passed us on the opposite direction when, in Vicky’s exact words, “it’s like something hit the @$$ of the van and made it veer sideways.”  The van had hit an especially slippery patch of ice.  And, even though she was driving 15 m.p.h less than the speed limit, it was still fast enough to cause loss of control.  In order to stop, we had to hit something–according to Newton’s first law of physics.  It’s just a matter of whether it was going to be the pick-up truck on the opposite side of the road that had come to a standstill, or whether it was the trees or the ditch on the other side of the road.

We hit the truck.  And, instead of reliving all of the details of the accident, I’ll just summarize a few things.  I remember feeling absolute dread that as brief as Calvin’s life has been thus far, it could have been over in an instant, and I would have only known him 2 1/2 months.  That thought just filled me with panic, then sorrow, and finally relief that he was in fact, still alive.  In fact, the 2 youngest fared no injuries thanks to their super safe and secure car seats.  Everyone else had whiplash, bruises, cuts, and of course the nasty seat belt burns.  But, those car seats and seat belts did their job!

Lesson learned from the previous car accident (hit and run) in which I suffered severe whiplash which inevitably led to my medical disqualification from flying my last few months of active duty in the military–instead of waiting several months to see a chiropractor (which only caused increased scar tissue and inflammation), I got checked by a DC less than 24 hours after the accident.

Whiplash SUCKS!  But, thanks to ICE, acupuncture, chiropractic, and spinal rehab exercises, I know I’m on the mend MUCH faster than when I was in an accident 7 years ago (and I was younger then!).  It’s frustrating that the beautiful curve I’ve restored to my neck is now shot.  I have to start over from square one to rehydrate the discs and restore neck curve and a more stable posture.  But, the encouragement this time is that I KNOW it’s possible to heal and to recover.  In fact, I can get a much quicker head start on things.

As for Calvin, my DC colleague checked him, too since I was still too rattled/sore/out of it to properly do it myself.  Calvin is absolutely fine and the accident didn’t affect him at all (maybe just a little on the emotional level).

Only a few days following that event, we drove to Charlottesville, Virginia to scope it out as a prospective place to live and start-up a practice.  Calvin was really hating the car seat as we approached 9 hours of drive time (6 hour road trip lengthens considerably with a baby and a major snowstorm).  At one point, the road was so snow/ice covered, we had to turn around and back track to the interstate and take a different route . . . adding another hour to our trip.  That really sucked.

We trudged around on foot for an hour or so on unshoveled sidewalks in downtown Charlottesville.  But by Friday, everything had melted and it was a lovely day. . . perfect for walking and checking out the pedestrian mall.

We’re traveling back to Lewisburg PA this Friday to give it another look.  We still have to compare the 2 locations with the whole pros/cons thing.  I’m personally leaning heavily toward Charlottesville.  I must say that I fell in love with it and found it so similar to Austin (my favorite city in the United States), but on a smaller level.  Ultimately, it’s up to God and where He directs us to move.

One Response

  1. That stinks about the accident, but glad there wern’t any major injuries. I Love Charlottesville, I’ve been there 4 times in the fall and its beautiful there. I also chacked out the UVA campus and its really cool, a great in-state college for residents. Things are going well here, lots of BH lately but just waiting for the real thing to start… can’t wait to meet our baby and not be pregnant anymore!
    Miss u guys, say Hi to Steve and Calvin for us – Heather&Greg

Leave a Reply

