• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 344,886 Visitors

Avocado Baby

Calvin had his first non-breastmilk food yesterday. I won’t call it solids because it looked more like green soup than anything. I mashed up avocado and mixed up a couple of teaspoons with water. Boy, was Calvin ready to try food! He grabbed onto the spatula handle (that’s all I had at my mom’s house), and he eagerly gulped it down. Sure, there was food all over his bib, but he did manage to swallow a bunch as well.

We tried his first cup a few days ago, and he was more interested in chewing on it than anything, but he did swallow some water. The sippy action wasn’t exactly his speed, so he just drank from it like any adult would. My mom gave him a bamboo cup which is nice for little hands, great to chew for those new teeth, tough to break, and super kid friendly.

I think this kid will be eager for 2 meals a day in the very near future, but I think I’ll still wait a month for that. We’re doing avocados for a week, then we’ll try out sweet potatoes. I’d love to try coconut juice, coconut milk, and meat from a young coconut with him . . . but, that’s such a bear of a job to crack open.

One book I’d definitely recommend for parents who want to make their own baby food at home is Super Baby Food. It’s got a lot of great ideas on what foods to start with based on those that are least allergy-inducing.  It has recommendations for what ages to start different types of foods, amount of meals, and it even goes step by step for what to do for that first feeding for those who need a checklist of items.  Like most books on nutrition, there are things with which I agree and things that aren’t necessarily supported by the most current research.  Yet, overall, it’s a good comprehensive book on starting baby on solids that are healthy, nutritious, age-appropriate, economical, and time-saving.  What parent wouldn’t appreciate that?

2 Responses

  1. Dear Calvin’s Mom,

    So, I really need to know the end of your story posted on Oct 22 2007. I see you had the baby, and you were able to say he was welcomed into the world on Oct 27th, but how did it happen?

    The reason I ask, is I have been in labor for two weeks now, and this is my fourth. The other three came from first contraction to push in: 24hours, 12hours, and 6hours. So, I thought for sure this one would come in 3 hours. Also, all of them came in the 37th week, 37th week 1 day, 37th week and 2 days. Here I am in my 38th week, and still no baby, no water leaking, no mucus plug, nothing.

    I don’t do internal exams, so I can’t even tell you if I am opening up, but I feel like I am.

    My doctor is confident the contractions are progressing the birth, so he is fine just waiting it out with me.

    However, I would love to know. Did the baby come on it’s own or did you use some sort of intervention?

    I got an epidural at the 20th hour of my first baby, the 12th hour (yes my baby was born 2 minutes after the epidural) on my second baby, and was able to do natural on my third baby. I want to avoid Pitocin, as I have never used it and feel it does lead to all sorts of other interventions, but was wondering if you had to have it to get that little guy out.

    I know it is a personal question, so feel free to ignore me, however, I am hoping you will say 5 days after that last blog on the labor you had a pain free or pain light delivery that was short because of all the hard work you had put in the weeks previous. It would make my situation so much easier to bear.

    Thanks,
    Mary Robin

  2. Hi Mary Robin.

    I wanted to write out my birth story soon after the experience, but tending to a newborn made it low low priority. Since I have to stand to type on the computer AND have simultaneous internet access, it was physically uncomfortable immediately after he was born . . . then, it just never happened. I think part of it was that I wanted to heal and get past the trauma of it all. Anyway, I’m inspired by your comment to sit down and really write out my birth story experience now that I have the time and energy. So, expect a post soon on that. Meanwhile, to answer your questions and to encourage you:

    – I had a drug free labor and delivery
    – I was at 42 weeks (he was truly a 42 week baby once born, it wasn’t a timing miscalculation on my part) and dilated to 7cm, but not having consistent contractions, later in the week, I’d have to get an ultrasound and fetal stress test to determine his health, amount of fluid, etc.
    – To avoid those interventions which I felt were harmful long term, I asked my midwife to break my bag of waters–and to let me know if she felt there were any risks to doing so…based on the fact I was 7cm, 42 weeks, she felt it was a good decision for us.
    – 2 hours after she broke the bag of waters, I had spontaneous contractions 10 min apart, then they increased in frequency. She called it active later 4 hours later. A total of 6 hours after she broke the bag of waters, I was at stage 2…and I pushed for 2.5 hours.
    – I’ll write about the details later, but ultimately, due to both my health and the baby’s, my midwife suggested an episiotomy–a few minutes later, she recommended it. I was reluctant and scared, but my birthing team encouraged me to do so. As soon as she completed the incision, the next push his head was completely out, the next push or 2 after that, came his body. I tore badly on top of the episiotomy and it took me FOREVER to heal (months and months).

    After the fact, my midwife noted that Calvin would have been happy to stay in utero another week at least! The bag of waters was very strong (thanks to my awesome prenatals).

    Your body is made to give birth to babies. You’ve done it before, and so your body remembers and will be able to do it more easily than with the first. I encourage you to continue to let your body and baby work together. There are many non-invasive methods to bring on labor when it’s time. I’d recommend researching your options and waiting until at least 40 weeks. This one isn’t even overdue yet! The least invasive method (easiest on you!) is acupuncture.

Leave a Reply

