• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 345,600 Visitors

Get a BPA-Free Magic Cup from Avent . . . It’s ABOUT Time!

I previously posted about Bisphenol-A Free baby bottles here. I recently found more info on this hot topic regarding baby health. First, I recommend visiting the Z Recommends site which has tons of info on BPA including rankings of baby product manufacturers, a mobile phone texting resource, and a BPA-Free report.

Next, I highly suggest parents check out the Bisphenol-A Free website which also has tons of resources and weblinks following this topic. This is the site where I found the Institute for Agriculture and Trade Policy’s Smart Use of Food Plastics and Healther Food Uses of Plastics printable pdf guide.

I contacted Canadian Buzz Bishop whose blog has a post boasting a creative use of the BPA-containing Nalgene bottles (nightlight anyone?). I found his blog via a post on London Drugs accepting BPA baby bottles and providing FREE in store credit. I also read this post on Avent making bottles with BPA. Since I don’t live in Canada, and I really wanted to find a way to make better use of my Avent Isis Uno breast pump, I wanted to know what options I had.

Currently, I pump into an Avent bottle, and then I immediately transfer it to a BPA-Free Medela bag or BPA-Free Born Free bottle for milk storage. Buzz directed me to Smart Canucks site which, for Canadians, enables free samples of Avent’s BPA-free bottle and sippy cup.

I called the toll free number (after being on hold for 8+ minutes and listening to a recording in French and English), and was finally in touch with a live Avent customer service representative. She kindly offered to send me a free Magic Cup which can be used with my breast pump and used as a sippy cup. So, U.S. residents can access Avent’s BPA-free stuff now, too. It also helped that I told her that I’m currently an Avent user. She suspected that Avent will soon make a BPA-free funnel for the breast pumps, too.

To contact Avent in the U.S., call 1-800-542-8368, but you’ll also get results with the Canadian number 1-800-843-2174

Update (5/22/2008)

I called the U.S. Avent number today for information regarding the free Magic Cup, and I encountered a very hostile Customer Service Representative who just wanted to read her script and tell me how “SAFE” the Avent bottles were, since BPA is only leeched if milk is heated in the bottles.  I told her how BPA is leeched through scratched plastic, and she proceeded to interrupt me by constantly saying, “ma’am . . . ma’am”.   She denied having a supervisor to whom I could speak (she said there is no boss for customer service).  After the way she acted, I believe it!

Additionally, phthalates are equally harmful (neural excitotoxin) and can be found in most soft plastic baby toys (and women’s nail polish) . . . in fact, most anything that’s not a rock-hard plastic. eHow published an article on how to stay away from phthlates in baby toys.

Update 6/27/2008

I found some great info on Safe Mama that most Babies R Us retailers will accept new and used bottles with BPA.  Whether or not they need a receipt for the exchange depends on the particular store.

9 Responses

  1. Also as of April 2008 Camelbak is offering BPA free water bottles. Their water bottles are awesome, I like them much better than Nalgene b/c of the spill proof top. Awesome for everyday use, dishwasher safe, and for toddlers (they make a small version our 2-year old loves). Also they have great BPA info regarding all their products right on their web-page which is refreshing b/c w/many companies you have to dig for the info. Good news Camelbak reservoirs don’t contain BPA!

  2. I can’t thank you enough!!! I’ve been going nuts about my pump. My baby has thrush, so the doctors want me to boil her bottles and my pump parts. But I know they contain BPA and who knows what else.

    I am so grateful for your research, and the fact that you’re sharing it with us. I’ll get my free Avent cup asap!!

    Have a wonderful day!

  3. It’s also in cans. It’s WORSE in cans.

    http://www.buzzbishop.com/blog/2008/05/29/canned-food-has-more-bpa/

  4. i cannot believe that i wasted soo much money on PHILIPS AVENT bottles!! the bottles I bought brand new from Babys’R’Us were NO GOOD! My poor baby son was all soaken wet after feeding from the bottle because the milk leaked out all over him. I thought it was just that bottle, so I thru it away and got another bottle for him. After the new bottle did the same thing, got my poor son soaken wet, and yes before i fed him, i made sure the lid was tight on the bottle, i was soo mad, i thru away every AVENT bottle I had! I will NEVER buy another AVENT product again!

  5. Have you found ANY stores in the US which are taking bottles back? I used Dr. Brown’s with my first (25 mo) after I stopped breastfeeding/pumping (into Medela bottles!). Now due with my second son in 12 weeks, I am starting to stress about this.
    advice?
    — Kelley

  6. kelley: at least one BRU in the Dallas area accepts Dr. Brown’s bottles with no receipt – must have all the parts. A TRU up the road will only accept them with a receipt. SO, you need to call ahead to see what the policy is. Also, the Dr. B BPA-free bottles are flying off the shelves with the exchange, so its hard to catch them when they are in stock. I tried for several weeks and finally lucked out.

  7. I returned 16 bottles TODAY at a local Babies R Us without any questions. I had both Avent and also playtex. They gave me a store credit for use ONLY on BPA free bottles. It was easy! They do require all parts of the bottles… nipples and lids!

  8. I need to know if i can get my avent bpa free bottles. My baby got a reaction in his mouth from the old bottles. Please send me my free bottles.

  9. I also wanted to let your company know that my baby was sick from the old bottles. I found out about this situation from my doctors office when i took my baby there and they told me to return the bottles. I dont have the reciept or the box for the bottles. THis is not fair. Please email me or let me know what your company can do for me. Its not cheap spending all this money on new bottles if you dont need them being worn out , this is a company defeact.

Leave a Reply

