• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 348,877 Visitors

What a Wonderfully, Perfect Day

We started out the day bright and early awaking to a playful baby boy who couldn’t wait to stretch his legs and get rompin’.  After breakfast, we took a vigorous walk to the City Farmer’s Market which offers the tempting smells of freshly made donuts, potted plants and flowers, hand made wares, and gobs of farm fresh produce.

Steve picked up his paycheck and we used it to purchase some free range eggs, pesticide-free monstros yellow squash, raw-milk goat cheese (chevre), a rosemary plant, a donut (for Steve), and green tea with mint (for moi).  We used the remainder of the cash for grass-fed beef from Steve’s employer.  His boss’ wife gave us Korean bim bop (cooked sushi with steak…so yummalicious).

After our family venture, we headed back to our apartment so Steve could head out to his boss’ farm to work for the day.  I was left to entertain/nurture Calvin, and he and I had a really fun day!

Since he sorta got his morning nap in the stroller, he wasn’t about to take one in his bed.  So, we played with his blocks.  After lunch, we tried for nap number –Calvin got his much needed rest for 2 hours while I was able to 1) catch up with a friend on the phone 2) complete my outline for an upcoming bank business loan proposal, and 3) blog/e-mail/facebook/linkedin/twitter.

Next, Calvin and I went to the public library which is located exactly 1/2 mile from our apartment complex.  I made some photo copies before sending some business forms to the IRS.  Since it was pretty freakin’ hot outside–mid 90s, I decided Calvin could use a fun dip in the pool.  After lathering him with sunscreen and putting him in his too big washable swim diaper, we headed downstairs.  Every single lounge chair and pool chair was occupied–the watering hole was uber popular on a hot Saturday afternoon.  But, there wasn’t a soul in the pool.  Calvin took no more than 1/2 a second to start splashing and kicking like a frog.  I supported him under his arms and he floated and swam around with me for a good 30 minutes.  We are the ONLY people who live on the Corner by the University of Virginia with a wee one.  Yes, we stick out like crazy, but it’s Calvin…he’s cute, he smiles and laughs at people, so they LOVE him.  And, the pool was no exception.  He got cute girls to smile and flirt with him…and boy did he flirt back.  I even heard a guy on a lounge chair exclaim that he never thought a baby in a pool could be so much fun.  Yes, Calvin was oblivious that he was providing exceptional poolside entertainment for the sunbathers.

After swimming, little man was hungry . . . and dinner wasn’t happening for at least another hour.  So, I shared some organic, whole milk yogurt with him, and for the first time, Calvin got to try a fresh fig.  He gobbled it up.  Well, slurped it up is more like it.  Then, he was content enough to take nap #3 . . . which gave me enough time to blend up his organic sweet potatoes and put ’em in ice cube trays.  I hoped to start my dinner before Calvin awoke, but that was just too ambitious of a goal.  I swooped in to rescue screaming baby because, well, it was time for him to sit on the potty (yes, he DOES let me know . . . and if he poops in his diaper, it’s truly my fault).  After we took care of THAT, I put him in a sling so I could finish up dinner.  As long as he was hanging out with me, he was certain he wasn’t missing out on anything fun.

After dinner, Calvin and I played again (blocks, walking with assistance, and I was the hurdle for his crawling obstacle course).  Then, bath time, baby grooming time, storytime, and bedtime.  Whew!  Once that was done, I was able to clean the entire apartment before Steve got home at 9pm.

When Steve walked in, he was carrying a cooler full of Korean spicy beef noodle soup, more bim bop, and frozen dumplings from his boss’ wife.  YES!  He told me he and his boss spent the day working on the farmland of one of the bandmembers of Dave Matthews Band.

And, at this very moment, while I type, I’m listening to a live acoustic act playing outdoors at the frat house deck literally 200 yds from our balcony.  I thought it was someone’s radio cranked really loudly to Garth Brooks.  But better than that, he was singing Johnny Cash covers, “Sweet Melissa”, “Brown-Eyed Girl”, “Sweet Caroline”, and the female vocalist was doing covers of Stevie Nicks.  Can’t think of a better day.  Totally fun, productive, relaxing, and full of great food and time with my family.  Sweet.

Leave a Reply

