• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 345,636 Visitors

Sucking Wind

Used the B.O.B. Revolution jogging stroller today for the first time as a JOGGING stroller.  Woah.  Was I gulping down the wind.  I knew it’d be more of a walk-run, than a full-blown run.  But, with the steep hills, and my low VO2, it was TOUGH.  But, it was fun.  Calvin LURVED going fast especially on the brick sidewalks at the UVa grounds.

I kinda waited a long time to attempt to get back into running.  I didn’t want to negatively affect my milk supply or my joints while breastfeeding…so, I stuck with swimming and martial arts.  Even that was a bit much since I injured my lateral collateral ligament in my knee…another reason I was slow to get back to the run thing.

Also, my philosophy on fitness has changed.  Running does not equal fit–although most people think it does.  Since it’s been 1.5 years since I’ve done ANY running, I need to at least be able to go short distances.  Short distances pushing a 20 pound baby is a very, very good workout.  Anaerobic and aerobic all rolled into one.

Whew!  I think I prefer swimming.  I definitely have a long way to go to be able to run 2-3 miles non-stop up hills while pushing a stroller.  But hey, I’m always up for a challenge.

2 Responses

  1. I love my BOB Rev, but now that my son is nearly 35 pounds, running with him has become “running.” I’m not even going to try when #2 comes along in Nov.

    Keep up the good work!

  2. I always wanted a BOB…but we didn’t have the funds for one when J was little. When Holly came along, I chose a fold-up in the trunk double side-by-side stroller for outings and figured I could at least take walks in the neighborhood with it. One night I attempted an evening run with both kids tucked into the double, and didn’t see a huge sidewalk bump in the dusky light. That stroller just toppled over! Thankfully little Holly was strapped in, but big brother wasn’t (the stroller had a belly bar) and Jonathan scraped his knees and his nose, poor kid. Both kids were really scared and so was I. Would have been nice to have a BOB Dualie, but ohmygosh, those things are like $400!!

Leave a Reply

