• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 348,877 Visitors

Weekend Update

Friday, Steve got home from work early.  So, we were going to look at commercial properties for lease for the practice, instead we spent the rest of the afternoon at one chiropractor’s clinic . . . then hurried home to feed 2 starving guys.

Calvin got licked by a big, shaggy dog at the doctor’s office.

Then, he set-up a chiropractic table for his daddy.  Yes, he is the world’s youngest chiropractor.

Saturday, we went to the Farmer’s Market where I got a recipe from a friend for fresh, cucumber kim chee.  I forgot to add the chopped green onions, but I still think it turned out tasting pretty good.  I made kim chee and chevre (raw goat’s milk soft cheese) sandwiches on pita.  Sooooo delicious!  My friend, Mihaye, teaches me Korean cooking in exchange for hugs from Calvin.

Then, Steve went to the farm to work whack weeds all afternoon, while I got busy unpacking.  Calvin and I took a trip to the library where I picked up some board books including his favorite, Barnyard Dance! by Sandra Boynton.  I read it to the tune of Skip to My Lou.  Then, I cleaned house like crazy, even though we still have moving boxes everywhere, and Calvin and I played and played.

Sunday, we had fun at church because we met more people.  I love it when the world/town/church seems a little smaller because there’s another face in the crowd with a name.  When we got home, we relaxed for just a bit, then jetted off to yet another church to attend a friend’s beautiful baptism.  I was in charge of doign the video recording of the private event, but I couldn’t help but get choked up at the symbolism, the public profession of faith . . . it was so amazing.  Our friend became a Christian while living in America–it is not something that is publically prevalent or accepted in his home country.  When the ceremony was over, he hugged his friends and exclaimed that he was so happy to now be a part of such a big family!  Afterward, we celebrated with a cookout and a feast.

I had a wonderful weekend.  How was yours?

One Response

  1. Isabelle loves The Barnyard Dance Book. She even made up a dance…well sort of.

Leave a Reply

