• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 348,289 Visitors

I Don’t Sleep–I Breastfeed!

After a membership class at church that ran late into the evening (which meant Calvin had a very late bedtime, we’re dealing with the sleep-deprivation consequences today.

Even after we tucked our little guy in bed 2 hours past his normal bedtime, Steve and I went straight to bed–exhausted.  I’d been up 16 hours straight, and I was running on empty.  No sooner had I fallen asleep, then I heard what the alarm clock ring.  But, it wasn’t the alarm clock–someone had called Steve’s phone past 11pm.  Then every 2 or 3 hours, thereafter, our son woke up screaming crying because he was thirsty.  That’s what happens when the temperature drops 20 degrees and suddenly dries out the apartment. I wish I could tell you I got the luxury of sleeping in on a Saturday, but we had to be back to church by 8:30 am for another 4 hours of class.

It may only be 9pm now, but it feels like midnight.  My body is crying for me to get off the computer and go to bed.

I will.  But first, I wanted to tell you that in spite of being sleep deprived and feeling like my eyeballs want to pop out of my skull, a couple of cool things happened today.

First, I taught a class on Babywearing and Back Health at Nature’s Child, which is the brick and mortar site for Along for the Ride.  Nature’s Child was celebrating its first birthday in business with a Local Festival.

I enjoyed the interactive nature of the class format, and I was stoked that they invited me back to teach a couple more classes next month: a repeat on babywearing and back health, and breastfeeding and back health immediately following their very popular New Moms Teas.  So, if you’re in Charlottesville on November 13th and 20th, please stop by Nature’s Child at 11:30 and join in on the fun!

Next, my first post for Deep South Moms was published today.  Please check it out.  I bare it all when it comes to my personal experience and philosophy on breastfeeding.

An original Traveling with Baby post by Dr. Dolly
2 Responses

  1. wow, what a day! but glad it wasn’t all irritation. 🙂 the classes sound awesome, i’m just sad i’m no where NEAR VA to come check it out. On that note, do you have any book recs on baby wearing & back health (& breastfeeding & back health for that matter)? I intend to ‘wear’ our next baby (whenever that may be) a good bit more but also have a history of back pain….not to mention not wanting to mess w/baby’s back health…

  2. Hi! Welcome to Deep south Moms – I write for the SVMoms and 50-something. I remember the days of breastfeeding and sleep loss – I just wrote a post about Sleep after attending a great lecture on Sleep. I look forward to reading your contributions!

Leave a Reply

