• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 346,393 Visitors

Mom Made Wholesome Goodness

I love making food for my son from scratch.  But, there are days when it gets hectic, and having enough food prepared to last several meals or several days when we’re on the road just isn’t pragmatic.  I’m not interested in purchasing jarred baby food that’s been sitting on a shelf for who knows how many months.

So, when I heard about the Virginia-based Mom Made Foods was going to be available in Wegmans, Whole Foods, and Super Targets all over Virginia (and many other states) I was thrilled.  Finally–wholesome, organic, baby food that I can purchase locally if I’m in a pinch.

So, the first question on my mind is always, “Does it taste good?”

The answer is a resounding “YES!”

For baby, Mom Made Foods come in apple, pear, sweet potato, and broccoli.  Okay, so my son wasn’t as thrilled about the broccoli as he was with the other flavors, but I just mixed the broccoli with sweet potato and all was well.

These fab flavors are all made from USDA certified organic produce.  The only other additions are filtered water or lemon juice (to prevent oxidation).

Is it as good as homemade? Definitely.  It looks just like my applesauce and pureéd sweet potatoes except maybe a little runnier, since I don’t add water.

Overall, the consistency is smooth (no lumps).  It’s easy to thaw out the container at room temperature or dunked in warm water.  The color of the food is beautiful and fresh.

For a baby just beginning on solids, the serving size is a little large.  Yet, the servings (2 containers of 3.5 ounces each) are just a little too slight for a baby who’s been on solids for several months.  So, I’d recommend for a bigger baby, mixing and matching flavors, or adding some of your own (plain yogurt, mashed banana, mashed avocado…to name a few).

Besides little ones, Mom Made also has a line for Big Kids which includes fiesta rice, cheesy mac, cheese pizza, and bean burrito.

The Mom Made site also includes recipes and healthy tips for babies, toddlers, and big kids.

Glad: This is a great, healthy, organic option that’s just like I would make for my son…except it’s conveniently pre-frozen and ready for on the go.

Sad: I like the flavor options for baby, but I wish there were more.  Mango, cauliflower, berries, squash . . . this is something worth diversifying even further!

An original Traveling with Baby post by Dr. Dolly.
Leave a Reply

