• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 346,393 Visitors

Heartbreak

Since last night, my son’s been suffering from something viral that’s given him a terrible croupy cough and a persistent fever.

He’s been nursing like it’s the last meal he’ll ever eat–every single time.  He hated his baths which is very unCalvin-like behavior. He refuses most solid foods (unless it comes directly from my plate…and even then, it’s a scant amount that he’ll ingest).

He’ll just cry, snuggle, and bury his head in my chest.

We spent all day trying to do things to naturally reduce his symptoms and discomfort–but, it’ll take his body’s immunity kicking in to really kick this bug that’s plaguing him and breaking my heart.  Things that have helped provide some comfort:

  • breastfeeding
  • chiropractic adjustment
  • water in his favorite Sippy cup
  • hydrotherapy (alternating very warm and cool wet towels while in the tub)
  • rest
  • snuggly blankie
  • snuggling with Mommy & Daddy
  • fresh air

When we did Calvin’s bedtime routine tonight, I got so choked up that I couldn’t sing his lullabye.  I wish that I could absorb his suffering so that he wouldn’t have to endure it.

To make it a little easier on us and more comforting for Calvin, Steve rocked him and held him in his arms until he fell asleep.  I pray he sleeps well through the night, and feels healthy and strong again by morning.  As much as his boundless energy wears me out, I miss it terribly.

–By Dr. Dolly
One Response

  1. Dolly, I hope Calvin gets better soon. I’ll say a prayer for you guys. I’m dreading the day that Jack gets sick, I’m sure it will come someday.

Leave a Reply

