• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,528 Visitors

Backburner…

…is the current location of this blog.  I know there are some of you out there eagerly anticipating Calvin’s latest adventures and photos of his quick sprint through babyhood.  Never fear…I’ll get to it…just as soon as life steps into a manageable rhythm.

Lately, all we’ve been able to do is get up really early, head to work with Calvin in tow, and just get things up to speed at the practice.  Once the end of the day rolls around, one of us drives him home to get his belly full of dinner, then we start the bedtime routine, only to begin everything anew the next day.

Grocery shopping? Errands?  That’s all shoved off until the weekend, as long as the weather’s nice and we’re all caught up.  Chances are you’ll still find us putting in hours at the practice getting familiar with practice management software, SOAP notes software, installing equipment, and dragging Calvin around with us.  At the rate we’ve been going, we’d get the practice set up fully functional by next month.

Fortunately, we were rescued by Steve’s parents.  They spent the past week with us, mainly, playing with Calvin in the mornings.  He was happy, we got a lot of stuff done, and now, we may be on track to be set up by the end of next week.  How awesome is that?

Latest Obsession

On a recent trip to a wholesale club, Calvin’s grandma found some irresistable and heavy duty Tonka trucks: bulldozer and dumptruck.  She said she circled them several times and he kept pointing at them, so she just HAD to get them for him since she knows he loves trucks.  She put them in the cart, and he twisted around and grabbed onto part of the truck for dear life so it wouldn’t leave his site…he did this all the way to the parking lot.

When we got home, he was busy putting toys into his trucks to drive ’em around.  Later on, Daddy put Calvin in the dump truck and wheeled him around!  I’ve never seen a bigger expression of glee in his face.  The only draw back is that he immediately tried to step into the dump truck by himself while hanging on to the dining table…that doesn’t work very well on something with wheels.

I wish I had photos of him with his trucks and his dancing chicken, but the camera’s been at the office.  So, no photos of Calvin this past week.  But, I’m going to make a concerted effort to photologue this next week of cuteness.

Another First

I even gave him his first haircut today…with no before and after photos to show for it.  Not that we would’ve had time.  We could barely pin him down long enough for me to trim the hair behind his ears which keeps tickling them.  That was it, just a couple of “snips” and his curly locks were gone.  I cried.  Then, I salvaged the precious strands of silk in a plastic bag made to hold extra buttons on clothing, then I secured it to his baby book.

As for an update on his milestones…he’s got a mouth full of teeth.  I have a hard time counting since he gets pretty antsy about it.  But, I’m pretty sure I saw at least 14 teeth, possibly 15.

Gotta Give Him Credit

I spent a little time at the mall this weekend totally getting some amazing deals at the winter close outs on clothing.  Heck, for the prices I was paying on stuff, you’d pay the same at a second-hand clothing store for something that’s second-hand.  So, I was just stoked to find business apparel that the stores were practically giving away.

Calvin joined me in his comfy BOB stroller ride.  It was a great place to store shopping bags and to keep all of our winter coats and accessories stowed away.  Calvin amused himself with raisins and he trusty sippy cup.

When he got really bored in a particular store, he chucked his sippy cup.  I didn’t hear it drop, or I would have picked it up sooner.  As I spent a few moments giving Calvin affection and attention, I noticed his sippy cup was MIA.  I looked around beneath the stroller, and I couldn’t find it anywhere.  So, I asked Calvin, “where is your sippy cup?” as if he would start talking and explain exactly where it was and how it got there.  This is the way I’ve always talked to him, and I do believe that one day he’ll respond in pretty good English.  Until that day, he usually just smiles and me or points at what he wants and says “Dah” or “Duh”.  But today was different.

Immediately after I asked him the question, he pointed straight ahead.  I thought to myself, yeah…right…he’s playing another game and pointing at something he wants.  So, I went with it…I turned around to look at what he was pointing at, and no kidding.  There it was.  His sippy cup.  It had rolled down the aisle about 20 feet, and he was pointing right at it immediately after I’d asked him where it was.

I was amazed.

I responded, “yep, you’re right.  There it is!”  And he responded with a knowing glance and a smile that seemed to say, “I told ya so!”

2 Responses

  1. How fun is that?! I talk to Lourdyn like she understands me, too. I’m sure he will start blurting out full sentences before you know it! 🙂

    Glad to hear that the practice is coming along…how exciting!

  2. That’s how I used to talk to Josh too even when it was mostly babble w/a few words thrown in, and now whenever he says anything he expects a comment back. If you don’t answer he just gets louder 🙂

Leave a Reply

