• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 346,328 Visitors

National Recess Week Giveaway

*UPDATE*
And the winners are . . . Jessica who said,
I will play with Lourdyn on the floor since she is learning how to roll and flip all over the place! We will also continue training for a half-marathon together! She and I will log about 13 miles this week at the park in the stroller. Yay!! I’m already subscribed to your blog and I already follow you on Twitter. Woo hoo!! I will try to blog about your contest, but I’m not going to promise because I’m working on another blog right this second.  Love you!
Heather who said,
I have an infant who never stops moving: in my arms, on the floor, in a stroller, in the tub it reallly doesn’t matter where. I’m pretty sure as soon as she can crawl and walk, I will be the one who gets a lot more exercise.
I already geyt traveling with baby, but I will check out twitter.
Miss ya!! Love ya!!
____________________________________________________________
42-16987808
March 2-6 is National Recess Week.  The whole idea of Recess Week is to encourage kids to get on their feet to enjoy active, calorie-burning fun.  Lively music is a great way to get toes tapping, hands clapping, and kids playing.
Putumayo Kids‘ Playground collection of albums are a perfect accompaniment to playtime.  The Playground series is jam-packed with upbeat sounds for dancing and play.  World Playground was the first album release in the series in 1999, and continues to last as a crowd-pleaser for all ages.  My son’s personal favorite is Hawaiian Playground which is joyous for adults as well as little ones. The next release is European Playground scheduled in May and Picnic Playground which will be released in July.  On tour this summer is A Putumayo Presents Picnic Playground.
world-playground-12
Putumayo Kids is the children’s and educational division of Putumayo World with a goal of introducing children to other cultures through music.  Putumayo Kids is a truly global record label, with millions of CDs sold in more than 100 countries worldwide.

*WIN IT*
As part of National Recess week, Putumayo Kids and Traveling with Baby have teamed up to offer not one, but TWO winners will win TWO Putumayo Kids Playground CDs (manufacturer’s choice).  Double the fun and double the recess play time!

1. To enter, post a comment on how you’ll encourage your kids to actively PLAY more during National Recess week.  What will you do WITH your kids?  Be creative, but most importantly…play!

2. Earn a second entry by blogging about the giveaway and linking to Traveling with Baby.  Then, leave a comment with a link to your post.

3. Earn a third entry by subscribing to Traveling with Baby.  Leave a comment “subscribed”

4. Earn a fourth entry by following me on Twitter (drdolly) and tweeting about this contest.  Leave another comment for this entry “twittered”.

Leave a valid e-mail address, so I can contact you to claim your prize, or it’ll go to another amazing person.  This contest is open to U.S. only.

This contest runs until 11:59PM (EST) on March 6, 2009.

One winner will be randomly selected (via random.org) and announced on this post and e-mailed sometime shortly after March 6th. If a winner doesn’t respond within 72 hours, a new winner will be selected.

45 Responses

  1. Well, IF the sun ever comes back out to warm us we will be walking around our beautiful lake everyday and we hope you come to visit us someday! With Carter going to be walking soon I’m sure we’ll be VERY active!

  2. I will play with Lourdyn on the floor since she is learning how to roll and flip all over the place! We will also continue training for a half-marathon together! She and I will log about 13 miles this week at the park in the stroller. Yay!!

    I’m already subscribed to your blog and I already follow you on Twitter. Woo hoo!! I will try to blog about your contest, but I’m not going to promise because I’m working on another blog right this second.

    Love you!

  3. I have an infant who never stops moving: in my arms, on the floor, in a stroller, in the tub it reallly doesn’t matter where. I’m pretty sure as soon as she can crawl and walk, I will be the one who gets a lot more exercise.
    I already geyt traveling with baby, but I will check out twitter.
    Miss ya!! Love ya!!

  4. Encouragement to play outdoors is not usually an issue. When work is done, we spend all of our time outdoors in the warmer seasons; either in the pool, on a walk at one of our many nature trails around here, on the playground, or simply throwing the ball back and forth in the yard.

  5. We’ll go to the park and swing and I’ll chase them around playing tag! It’s warm and sunny this week so we can do it.

  6. Encourage them not to get in front of the tv in the evening but play outside.

  7. Play is the key word. I like to take my kids on nature walks, play hide and seek, play outside with the dog, go for a bike ride, swim, etc. Play is KEY. Make movement fun.

  8. Everyday Avery and I dance around to whatever music we can find… Kid’s CD’s, Country Music, Opera… Whatever,We pop it in and dance away! Once summer hits again we’ll walk to the Mailbox everyday (About 1/2 mile round trip) We love being active… Avery’s 22 months! Thanks

  9. we’ll go to the park more

  10. We use recyclables to make game pieces, then go outside and make up games together.

  11. i love to win

  12. Please, enter me, great prize!!! I would love to win this.

  13. We will clean our bicycles and then go riding!

  14. The only way to do this is to do this. I will play with my grandchildren. They learn by example.

  15. I will let their imagination lead – not mine. We will go to distant planets, talk to faeiries in the woods, and draw up plans for our own hogwarts

  16. I am a kindergarten teacher and I incorporate a lot of movement and physical activities in my lessons. I have balls with the different letters of the alphalbet on them and we play alphabet ball to practice the letters. I believe many kids learn better through active movement and incorporating learning with activity. We also play sight word basketball, number freeze, and red light blue light with counting. During national recess week I plan to increase these activities, as well as bringing out the balls and hoola hoops outside during recess so they can play their own games with them.

  17. To encourage my kids to play more we are going to the beach.

  18. I work at Gymboree Play & Music so I am always encouraging parents to get down in the dirt with their kids (just like I encourage them to do the Gymboree activities). Encourage their imagination, and develop their intellect and body, and they will never fail!

    ladyspy79@aol.com

  19. My boys have been riding their bikes this week since the weather has finally warmed up. Thank you

  20. I subscribed. Thank you

  21. My kids have wild imaginations as it is, they always have a ball.

  22. We go to the park so they don’t have access to TV video games or the couch

  23. Well, my daughter doesn’t need much encouraging to play outdoors. She loves it. This week we have looked for insects outside, made sidewalk paint out of sidewalk chalk to paint “jumping squares”,rode bikes and tomorrow we are going to the park to fly a kite.

    yzgirl4[at]verizon[dot]net

  24. I subscribed!

    yzgirl4[at]verizon[dot]net

  25. Having a different weekly outing that centers around playing outdoors is always a plus to encourage.

  26. We are definately going to the park and playing on the playground and practicing soccer! It just got above 60 degrees in WI yesterday! WHoo Hoo! Thanks for the chance!

  27. We are buried in snow here in Maine so our play lately consists of making obstacle courses in the basement. The kids can’t wait for Spring when they can really get out and stretch their legs!

  28. we’ll go to the park more and go fishing:)

  29. I’ll take them to the park so they can play and get exercise. We might bring a ball or game to play together as well.

  30. We go outside constantly. We live right next to the park and library so it’s rewarding for both of us.

  31. after school today, my older son and I are shooting baskets, then daughter will go for a stroller walk

  32. today’s pretty nice will take my toddler to the park!

  33. I’ll take my kids to the skate park. I can’t guarantee I’ll attempt any kick-flips, etc., but I’ll bring a frisbee…..less of a chance I’ll break something.
    gkstratos@yahoo.com

  34. Subscriber
    gkstratos@yahoo.com

  35. We’ll be heading to our favorite park which has not only a playground, but also a picnic area and farm animals to pet. The kids love it there and they run all over the place 🙂

  36. we play hide and seek with our puppies outisde

  37. My kids love it when we take them to the park and run around with them, instead of just watching. The best way to get them outside moving around and having fun is to do it with them. If I say I’m heading outside to ride my bike, they both come running and beg for a bike ride too!

  38. The weather is finally turning good around here and our favorite exercise is to take the dog up to the park and play keepaway with him–lots of laughs and exercise. We love Putamayo and would be very excited to win some of their CD’s.

  39. I subscribed.

  40. As I mentioned earlier, I just found this site and love. Great ideas. Keep up the good work.

  41. We are going to the park & having a play date & picnic with some other mothers & children!

  42. I will play with my children outside. We will bicycle. take walks around the neighborhood, visit parks and encourage them to play sports with other children.

  43. We take the dog for a walk every day. The dog has come to expect it and we can’t disappoint her.

  44. We’ll go out for walks more often.

  45. I’ll go to the gym more often.

Leave a Reply

