• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 348,877 Visitors

Party Like It’s 2009

Ultimate Blog Party 2009

I’m so excited about the Ultimate Blog Party 2009!  Thanks for stopping by Traveling with Baby.  This blog was founded in May 2007 by me, Dolly Garnecki, while pregnant and finishing up graduate school to become a chiropractor.

copy-of-img_4743

THE INSPIRATION

I blogged to work through my emotions and experiences of going through two major life-changing events and feeling majorly overwhelmed with both.  Parenthood seemed overwhelming and sorting through all the baby and mom products, parenting styles and philosophies were enough for me to consider going back to school to study Mommyhood.  Since there isn’t a book that describes the process, I decided to document my experiences and shed some chiropractor-seasoned light on the pregnancy/home birth/motherhood arena.  In a nutshell, that describes the influences behind Traveling with Baby.

WORKING 9-5 (AND 24/7)

Regularly, you can expect to read posts on life as a stay-at-home mom balanced with being a working mom (I work ALL the time, but I’m in the office part-time).  Occasionally, you’ll see posts with health tips on babycare and nutrtition with an occasional healthy recipe thrown in for good measure.

ON THE ROAD AGAIN

I love to post on travel, whether that’s making a home away from home for baby at the office or jet-setting to far away places and bringing baby along.

SPEND OR SAVE

And then there’s the product reviews and giveaways.  Let’s face it, there’s a whole bunch of stuff on the market for parents, babies, toddlers, and kids.  What do you really need?  What’s really worth the splurge?  What’s beneficial?  I know everyone’s got an opinion, and if you like the opinion of a Chiropractor Mom who had her first birth at home with a midwife, still nurses a toddler, uses cloth diapers (and disposables), and makes baby food from scratch, then maybe you’ll enjoy reading this blog.  That being said, I still wear make-up, drive a car, and eat beef…this down-to-earth crunchy mama likes to stretch a dollar.  I consider a shower to myself followed by a square of dark chocolate accompanying green tea to be a sweet little moment of “me” time in an otherwise “it’s not about me” day.

PARTY GOODS

I have a couple of party goods up for grabs as part of this week’s festivities.  Please visit my Boon giveaway and my See Kai Run giveaway.  Please leave a comment to let me know you stopped by to par-tay!

So many great prizes are offered.  My top picks are

1. $100 gift certificate to either Pedal Cars and Retro or A Rocking Horse To Love from 5 Minutes for Mom

40. Boca Beth Grande Bag for bilingual babies by Boca Beth LLC

20. 5 bars of handmade goat milk soap, winner’s choice of scent by Goat Milk Stuff

If those items already have winners, my other choices would be 58, 21, 22, 26, 30, 50, 52, 91, 99, 118, international 36, or 123.

22 Responses

  1. Saw you on UBP…adorable shoes, thanks for the giveaway!

  2. I’m party hopping and wanted to say that it was nice to meet you! Happy blogging, partying and I hope you are enjoying the First Day of Spring!

    ellybean (at) connected2christ.com
    http://www.connected2christ.com/theblog

  3. I’m coming back to read more! Thanks for the detailed intro! So glad you are traveling with baby! What a joy!
    See ya around!
    blessings!

  4. Doing some party hopping. Hope you’ll come visit me too!

  5. Just stopping by UBP hopping. Nice to meet you! Come on over to mommiedaze.com and say hi!

  6. I’m a “crunchy mama” too. 🙂 We, too, enjoy traveling, and your “me time” sounds great! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Michele

  7. I’m blog-hopping my way through the party! Glad to have found you. I am a new foster mom, so I can especially use all your info on cloth diapering!

  8. FYI- your links above to your 2 giveaways aren’t working. 😦

  9. I’m party hopping! Hope to see you at my party!

  10. Oh, I had my first (and second) at home with a midwife and I use cloth diapers as well (BumGenius 3.0)! I found your blog when looking through all the prizes. Chloe actually needs a new pair of shoes so that is the prize that is number one on my list. I’ll be entering for that!
    It was nice to ‘meet you!”

  11. I am blog hopping through the list and I have to say I went back and read you post 41 weeks and 1 day pregnant. LOL I could feel your frustration!

    Have a great day!

  12. My family are big travelers as well. I got two little monkeys- 3.5 and 2 yo so yes, “mommyhood” can get tough sometimes. My kids are my greatest joy in ife. 😀

    Happy UBP ’09! 😀

  13. Nice to meet you!

    Talk about a party!

    I’m quite intrigued and am learning how to get around!

    Just stopping by from 5minutes for moms blog party!

  14. Hi

    I am stopping over from the Ultimate Blog Party 09! It’s very nice to meet you. Check out my blog for a photo card design giveaway. Happy Partying!

    http://www.littleladybugdesignsblog.com
    Birth Announcements, Baby Shower Invitations, and Birthday Invitation

  15. Love the blog and think we have lots in common! I am planning a homebirth in May and am a birth and postpartum doula. I own a natural parenting company and in general am a very attachment/natural-minded mama! Glad I found you on the UBP!

  16. Hi! So nice to meet you! Party hopping and participating too so stop in for a visit.

  17. Hi, I am out bopping from party to party, I have to bop because I am too old to hop. I love the pic at the playground..
    I am off to have some more fun, not at the playground it is raining here in Ohio.
    Have Fun!!!
    auntrene.blogspot.com

  18. Thank you….stopping by to party, nice to meet you…cheers!

  19. Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

    I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

  20. I love your header-so cute! Just dropping by to say thanks for stopping at Notes From the Cookie Jar and leaving a comment! It was so nice to come home to a bunch of kind comments just waiting for me. 🙂

  21. Hey Dolly-

    I am just stopping in from The Ultimate Blog Party (after party) to say hello. Come by my place to enter to win a LeapFrog Tag Reading System and some books by pledging to read to your child everyday. You can also enter to win a pair of Girl’s Crocs – Size 8/9. 🙂

    This week to keep the party going a little longer, I am hosting a few more giveaways. Stop by and see what you can win!

    Stacie
    The Divine Miss Mommy
    http://www.thedivinemissmommy.com
    http://www.twitter.com/stacieinatlanta

  22. I love a piece of dark chocolate at the end of the day too. That – and a glass of wine…but I haven’t had a chance to have one of those for awhile. I’ve pretty much been pregnant or breastfeeding since 2006.

Leave a Reply

