• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,014 Visitors

Health Happy Round-Up: Conquering Headaches

j0433218Welcome to a new series on Traveling with Baby, Health Happy Round-Up which focuses on multiple aspects of wholesome living and optimal health for the entire family.  Each weekend, Traveling with Baby will share some insightful news, recipes, and tips to help you consider fresh new perspectives on wholesome and happy health.  If there’s a topic you’d like featured on Health Happy Round-Up, let me know!  [drgarnecki at gmail dot com]

____________________________________________________________

Do you sometimes get headaches or migraines?  Do you know how to tell the difference between them?  Have you ever wondered if there was something you could do to prevent regular headaches from ever starting?

headache hurt

Check out an article by my colleague Dr. Peter Osbourne on chronic headaches, common food triggers and other lifestyle, physical, and emotional contributors.  Learning what can cause headaches is half the battle to preventing them from starting.  Read The Truth About Headaches – Natural Treatment Approaches that Work.  Unfortunately, some of the most popular American foods are also some of the most headache-inducing: chocolate, alcohol, cheese, citrus, and grains.

While you’re at e-zine articles, you can also check out an article by Misha Vonner on pregnancy-related headaches, causes, and natural prevention.  Not surprisingly, getting more sleep and reducing stress are at the top of the list for preventions.

Additionally, you can read several abstracts from peer-reviewed journals  at the International Chiropractic Pediatrics Association research site. There is an informative list of abstracts on headaches/migraines and how chiropractic care has helped them to resolve naturally.

Personally, I have seen patients with headaches that radiated from the back of the neck toward their eye.  They tried sleep, dim-lighting, and even over-the-counter medications to ward off the evil headaches.  However, often removing a spinal misalignment in the upper neck can reduce the adverse mechanical tension on the spinal cord (which causes pain and restricted communication from the brain to other organs in the body), and often the headache/earache/eyeache will resolve shortly after a chiropractic adjustment.

Very frequently, a common cause of headaches is simply dehydration and lack of sleep.  That’s definitely a headache cause that I can relate to as a breastfeeding mom.  Drinking more water, and catching a brief nap (or laying down for some rest) or going to bed earlier at night will often help resolve many dehydration or stress-related headaches.

How do you know you’re dehydrated?  Thirst.  Chapped lips.  If this is already occurring, you’re already dehydrated.  So, find some H2O and drink up!

I completely agree with Dr. Osbourne that there are often multiple causes for headaches, and if you suffer from them chronically, definitely get evaluated by a doctor to rule out any life-threatening conditions.

6 Responses

  1. Thanks for the information. I have migraine. It would usually start from eye strain then develop into migraine during the day. Every time my eyes get exposed to too much sunlight and bright lights I know that after that my head will start to feel heavy and become migraine eventually. I think I eyesight and migraine has a big connection. Thanks again. This site might help.

  2. Great post! I’m drinking more water, and I’ve noticed that my headaches are becoming issues of the past.

    Thanks for the information!

  3. Thanks for this! I’ll try more water and see if it helps!

  4. If nausea is associated with the headache, does that mean it’s a migraine? I don’t get headaches very often, but sometimes they are so bad they make me nauseous.

  5. You are so right about the helpfulness of chiropractic adjustments! I get the exact type of headache you described: radiating from the back of my neck and clamping down over the top of my head to behind my eye. An ice pack on my neck reduces the swelling from the misalignment until I can get in to see my chiropractor….

  6. […] few weeks ago, I wrote a Health Happy Round-Up post on Conquering Headaches.  However, in that post, I failed to mention another common cause of headaches: eye […]

Leave a Reply

