• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 348,877 Visitors

Health Happy Round-Up: Skin Care for Moms and Babies

roundupWelcome to a weekly series on Traveling with Baby, Health Happy Round-Up which focuses on multiple aspects of wholesome living and optimal health for the entire family.  Each weekend, Traveling with Baby will share some insightful news, recipes, and tips to help you consider fresh new perspectives on wholesome and happy health.

Guess what’s the largest organ in your body?

Okay, well, it’s actually ON your body…it’s your skin!  It’s about 1-2 meters squared in surface area and comprises 12-15% of your body weight.  Wow! It’s a living, breathing organ that’s highly permeable to anything you put on it topically–it’s also your body’s thinnest organ measuring in at 0.5 mm on the eyelids and up to 4mm in thickness on the palms and soles of your feet.

Your skin forms a protective barrier against chemicals, however it is also highly permeable to toxins.  Your skin has up to 4.5 meter of blood vessels to help regulate body temperature.  However, that also means that anything you put on your skin will also go directly to your blood stream.

If you’d rather not eat it, then you probably shouldn’t put it on your skin.  That applies not only to pregnant women, but to children and adults as well.

It bears repeating . . . if you wouldn’t ingest it, don’t put it on your skin.  It’ll just end up inside as if you had eaten it, anyway.

Grocery stores, drug stores, department stores, and cosmetics specialty stores are lined with gobs of products filled with, well, fillers.  Many of those products contain ingredients that are hazardous, may cause allergies or irritation, and some are carcinogens (translation: research has shown them to be cancer-causing agents).

So, why do we (mostly women) put that stuff on our skin?

Is it the promise of youth and beauty?  Dry skin, blemished skin, or oily skin that needs a remedy?

Hey, there are some good things out there on the market, but if you want to get back to basics to have beautiful skin and great health inside and out, then I want to arm you with some resources to help you with your decision-making process.  Also, I want to share with you my very inexpensive skin beauty secret.  For the record, I DO eat it regularly, too.

Curious?

Stay with me.

I’d like to share with you, once again, a great site created by the Environmental Working Group called Skin Deep.  You can look up any product by category, brand, or ingredient to find out its hazard rating, and descriptions of any associated hazards or risks.

For the most part, this database is pretty thorough, although a recent glance indicated a “0” hazard rating for a few petroleum-based products.  Those need to be upgraded to at least a 7 since petroleum jelly is thrice derived from petroleum (a known carcinogen).  While we’re on that topic, keep in mind that mineral oil is derived from petroleum…the stuff that helps your engine run…7 times.  Mineral oil is the primary ingredient in “baby oil.”

There is no way on this planet I would EVER put baby oil on my son’s skin or let it near him with a 10-foot pole.  Why on earth marketing companies labeled it as such is beyond me.  Yet, that’s part of the lack of regulation in the U.S. cosmetics industry.  A darn shame, I might add.

But, back to Skin Deep, overall, a GREAT resource for learning about products, and their associated ingredients and hazards.

Another resource site is Stephanie of Bubble and Bee.  I use their shampoo, lip balm, deodorant pit putty, and lotion stick.  I love that they are vegetable and essential oil-based without chemicals.  Unfortunately, a lot of “natural” products on the market have ingredients that, well, aren’t natural.

Stephanie’s got a Chemical of the Day blog where she posts about an ingredient and provides background as well as the Environmental Working Group rating.  There’s also a great Q&A section where you can ask about any chemical that may be lurking in a product.  It’s fab.

Other than Bubble & Bee products, I also use coconut oil–straight up.  I use the affordable, second press found in the baking aisle of many major grocery stores.

I cook with it since it has wonderful medium-chain fatty acids that the body craves and needs to rebuild and repair.  I also scoop out a couple tablespoons and leave it in a glass dish.  I use very tiny amounts as my morning and evening moisturizer.

My husband has used it to quell irritated skin from poison ivy.

My son dips his fingers in and applies it to his “boo boos” on his knees.  And if he happens to ingest it, I’m not worried one bit.

coconutoilIt’s all around good stuff.  I eat it. I don’t mind if it gets in my blood stream, in fact, hurry up and get in there!  Want more info on the benefits of coconut oil, check out The Coconut Oil Miracle by Bruce Fife.  This book is currently on my night stand.  It’s a great compilation of research, history of coconut oil and the U.S. fast food industry’s use of cooking oils, plus there’s a lot of information on why it’s the most beneficial oil for human consumption.

When I apply the coconut oil in the morning, I gently massage a very small amount into my face (it doesn’t take much), and then I allow it to absorb for a few minutes.

Next, I apply mineral make-up from Alima Pure.  This is a pure pigment mineral make-up line that doesn’t use fillers, fragrances, or additives that are harmful to skin and your bloodstream.   These brilliant, breathing colors have natural sun-protection and they last all day.  Read my previous review on Alima Pure’s make-up.

They recently sent me sample eye colors for their limited edition Zen Garden line for review.  They’re GOR-geous.  Shimmery, neutral, and golden Bamboo, deep brown Teak with green and golden sparkles, matte and intense purple Lilko’i, and olivey green Eucalyptus with a silver shimmer.

Alima Zen GardenThese colors are perfect for fall.  A little darker for the shorter days, and perfect for the chilly evenings when I’m sporting a vest or scarf.  On the rare occasions we go out for a nice dinner, say for our upcoming 9-year wedding anniversary, I’d like to go a little more color on the eyes.  The Zen Garden Collection is available for a limited time, and four full-sizes of eye color retail for $25 (they’re usual rate is $9 per shade–so, great savings for fall).

Zen Garden lookFour colors.  Easy to apply with a brush.  Since they’re natural pigments, they wash off with water and a washcloth.  If I happen to get a little mineral dust in my sink, it easily washes off with water.

Here’s a close-up.

eyes closedSimple, beautiful, not bad for my skin, and fun.  That’s my kind of make-up.

–By Dr. Dolly
Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
4 Responses

  1. Dolly, it shouldn’t surprise me that you’ve got such as great blog. I was expecting to see a pitch for some skin care MLM when I saw the tagline on your facebook, and instead I see a well-written, informative blog post.

    Keep up the good work, and I hope all is going well for you!

    Jon

  2. I just visited the Alima website, and love the look of their products. Did you know that you could win a $50 credit by becoming a fan on their facebook page by September 15?

    I thought one good tip deserved another in return!

  3. Hey Dolly, I like you’re pics and the fact, that you’re traveling with you’re baby a term that i honestly have never heared before 🙂 but it sounds cool. I am interrested in photography aswel, because i am just a huge fan of pictures in general I would like to travel the world an take pictures of every spot i have been.

Leave a Reply

