• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,528 Visitors

Social Media…Live in CVille

I love blogging, connecting on Facebook, Twitter, and e-mail.  I can do a LOT of writing, marketing, and correspondence in the comfort of my home.  I don’t always have to wear business attire nor have my hair brushed when I’m working from behind the computer screen.

Yet, I must be around other people…that’s what I do.  Other than sharing about the love of motherhood, green parenting, and alternative health with you, I also regularly care for patients.  While growing my blog and my practice, I do make it a point to attend some sort of local networking or marketing event at least once a week.

The benefit of meeting others in person is tremendous.  I can see the smiles and personality behind the tweets, Facebook updates, and blog posts.  It’s also a great opportunity to build partnerships for guest posts, sharing blog growth ideas, and best practices for social media.  Aside from all that social media talk, it’s fun to get to know my favorite bloggers’ and tweeters’ favorite activities, what their kids are doing, what their voices sound like.

social media club logoWe’re fortunate in Charlottesville that a group of forward-thinking people (as social media folks tend to be) started a local Social Media Club.

Once a month, locals emerge from behind their computer screens to mix and mingle, listen to guest speakers, and share ideas on social media.

Social Media Club Fall Social at the Horse and Hound Gastropub in Cville

Social Media Club Fall Social at the Horse and Hound Gastropub in Cville

Last night, my dear friend Elisa and I attended the fall social held at the Horse and Hound GastropubCharlottesville-Albemarle Airport (CHO) sponsored the occasion with wine, beer, candy corns, and Halloween-themed jelly bellies.  There was also great CHO swag: luggage tags, neoprene luggage handle covers, and super cool mousepads with the CHO logo, plus “fly local…and blog about it.” Oh yes, that is what I call effective, targeted marketing!

If you’re a fan of great aviation-themed tweets and posts, check out Where’s Barb? by CHO’s own Executive Director Barbara Hutchinson (@bhutchinson).

social media club1

In the photo above, Todd Wickersty (@BusinessBullpen)  of Business Bullpen shares announcements with the Social Media Club Charlottesville members about next month’s meeting and guest speaker Marijean Jaggers (@marijean) of Standing Partnership and StLWorkingMom.  MJ’s gonna speak on Six Ways to Build Your Biz with Social Media.  I’m definitely going to be there!

social media club2 In the photo on the left, Elisa is smiling after making silly faces for my Samsung camera phone (because someone left her Canon memory card in the computer at home).

Besides this sweet social media club, Elisa, Jennifer of Events with Panache, and I thought we’d get together and start up a women’s blogging group to help each other launch and improve personal or business blogs, and foster incredible business women friendships.

In September, SheBlogs was born from a coffee shop meeting of three gals.  In October, our attendance doubled to six where we presented a few learning topics then quickly decided to plan a workshop meeting for November.

If you’re a local blogger, join us on the first Wednesday of the month from 9:30 AM to 10:30 AM.  On November 4th, we’re meeting at Open Space, and children are welcome and even encouraged.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
2 Responses

  1. Thanks for the great write up, and it was wonderful meeting you on Wednesday. I hope you can make future events and I look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

