• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,530 Visitors

For the Traveler: Eco-friendly Apparel by prAna

When we pack our bags for a road trip–whether it’s to visit grandparents or embark on a camping adventure, we want to pack fast and light.

As a parent of a busy toddler, who has time for fussy clothes that require a lot of extra prep time?  Dry cleaning, ironing, and hangers–fuhgeddaboudit!

I prefer to reach for extra-comfy, eco-friendly apparel where I can shake out the wrinkles or quickly steam them out by hanging them in the bathroom during a hot shower.  I love beautiful apparel that can handle being wiped on or tugged on by a toddler.  Durable clothing made from sustainable fibers that’s perfect for travel or a parent of small children.

prana-logoprAna is a company committed to the environment when this company creates beautiful and durable clothing for men and women.  Psst!  They even have a maternity line!  Prana means “breath, life, and vitality of spirit.” The embodiment of their mission is conveyed in every single item.  Take a peek at their complete fall and winter line.

prAna willow dressWhen I first tried on prAna’s Willow wrap-around dress, I twirled around and felt as though I was wearing a graceful and feminine ballet skirt–except the Willow dress has the comfort of your most favorite and broken in t-shirt due to the soft stretch bamboo fibers.  My favorite detail are the belled sleeves with a swirled design detail.

I’ve worn it to evening networking events, church, and I plan to wear it to upcoming holiday gatherings.  Paired with cute boots, you’re ready for a night on the town.  Worn over flowing pants, you’re comfortable and casual for a playground date with your little one.

willow dressThe Willow Dress ($80) is available in plum (shown), espresso, and black.

Note: To keep the cross-over wrap neckline of the Willow dress in place, I had to use a safety pin to secure it.  Wearing the dress over a camisole can also provide added modesty.

prana tunic picnikI wear my Winter Lacie Top everywhere.  From play dates to public speaking events in the community, I feel comfortable, feminine, and professional in this gorgeous blouse.

The Lacie Top ($50) is a medium-weight ribbed organic cotton knit blouse with delicate lace detail on a square neckline.  The empire waist complete with shirring is very flattering to a post-partum figure.  Paired with a brightly colored scarf, you can either dress it up with tailored trousers or keep it comfortably and classy with your favorite jeans and boots.lacie top winterThe Lacie Top is available in Corsica, Espresso, and Winter (shown above).

My husband tried prAna’s Axiom jeanFlag Stand Axiom2 TwBThe cotton/spandex blend provides generous stretch and a gusseted inseam–great for tree climbing and gymnastics as well as an occasional pick-up game of ball.  prAna pays attention to detail and adds contrast zig-zag stitching and faux suede logo patch in the front right pocket for a designer touch.  The sand-washed thighs give a slightly worn and modern look.  My husband remarked that he thought they were very comfortable.  Personally, I really like the way they look on him!  axiom jeanThe Axiom Jean ($75) is available in three washes: Grey, Dark, and Medium (shown above).

Serena1prAna designed the Serena skirt, from super soft cotton jersey knit.  It’s comfortable and flattering for everyday wear, and the flattering yoke waist offers belly coverage and stretch throughout pregnancy and beyond. There’s a beautiful contrasting two-tone floral print on the right side.

I love wearing the Serena with tights and boots in the fall.  You’ll find me wearing it with sandals in the spring. The 28 1/4 inch length hits mid-calf, so it’s versatile for many seasons.serena skirt corsica

The Serena Skirt ($55) is available in Corsica (shown), Black, and Plum.

Stay, in-the-know on the latest happenings at prAna by becoming a fan on Facebook and subscribing to their blog.

WIN IT!

One winner will enjoy his/ her choice of one of the prAna apparel items featured above (Willow Dress, Lacie Top, Axiom jean, or Serena skirt) as long as it’s available in the winner’s size/color choice (retail value $80).

To enter, leave a comment relevant to this post prior to Friday, November 27th at 11:59 p.m.  Please follow the contest rules and avoid any generalized comments, or you will be disqualified.

FOR A SECOND ENTRY: complete a quick 10-question reader demographic survey. Then, leave a second comment telling me that you did.

FOR A THIRD ENTRY: Blog or Tweet about the Holiday Gift Guide (or about this giveaway), then leave a second comment telling me that you tweeted or blogged with a link to your tweet/post.

Thank you to prAna for providing a Willow Dress, Lacie Top, Axiom Jean, and Serena Skirt for the purpose of this review.
Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly

UPDATE: Congratulations to the winner, #6 Christine Jensen.

39 Responses

  1. love prAna and the skirt is the coolest. my guy would love the jeans. funny… i do laundry just to wear my prAna stuff.

  2. Dolly, you look great in the Willow wrap around dress. I’ve worn Prana clothing for years both for working out and casual wear. The stuff looks great wash after wash. I usually wait till the end of the season and buy during a Prana sale.

  3. Filled out your survey.

  4. This is part of post #3 retweeted using your formated tweet

    Latest: RT @drdolly Shop. Win. Give. Holiday Gift Guide for the entire family http://wp.me/p4s6M-Z5 less than 5 seconds ago
    from monkeygrl59

  5. I would pick the Jeans for my hubby! He could use some new Jeans and these look great!

  6. I took the survey 🙂

  7. I am loving these clothes! I especially like clothes that can easily go from work to evening engagements, as I often have to go straight from work to other functions and don’t have time to change.

  8. I took the survey!

  9. The Serina skirt is gorgeous, I love the comfort factor.

  10. I completed the survey.

  11. I love the skirt and the lacie top. If you had to pin the wrap dress to keep from showing, I’m a bit concerned that I, a short lady, would have trouble with it. The skirt. . . that sounds so comfortable, yet its still quite pretty.

  12. I took the survey! I hope it helps, Dolly.

  13. i like the willow dress, may be it fit to my wife…and i will give him for present at his birthday…:D

  14. Oops! Also, I took the survey!

  15. The Willow dress is adorable, and love the eco friendly quality!

  16. Latest: http://travelingwithbaby.wo… Enter to win Prana clothing. less than 5 seconds ago.

    Tweet from http://twitter.com/monkeygrl59

  17. The Lacie Top is awesome. I like wearing it and it is comfortable.

  18. My husband is in serious need of new jeans as they all end up being worn to work. The pRana Jeans look too nice for him to use as just another pair of work jeans!

  19. Took the survey!

  20. I love the The Serena Skirt in Plum. Its so pretty

  21. I did the Survey

  22. I am constantly trying to live a greener lifestyle. And the clothing from prAna sure makes it fashionable! I love all of these items — I don’t know which I would choose!
    Thanks so much!

  23. I completed your survey. Thanks!

  24. * Tweet *

    Thanks!

  25. I love the skirt-its so versatile like you say-plus I like the lengh

    gorgeous skirt

  26. I completed your survey 🙂

  27. I like the Serena skirt in Corsica or Plum. I really like the Groove dress, also, on their site.

  28. I completed the demographic survey

  29. I love the wrap around dress; looks great on you!

  30. I competed your survey

  31. I really like the prAna Lacie Top. Hubby does need a new pair of jeans. Hmmm .. we may have to negotiate on this one!!

  32. I took your demographic survey

  33. i love the wrap dress, gorgeous!
    Thanks

  34. I never heard of prAna before but thanks for introducing me to their clothes!

  35. I completed your survey!

  36. The clothes from prAna looks so stylish yet comfortable!

  37. I took your demographic survey. 🙂

  38. The Lacie top is really cute. I really like the details on the hems and sleeves.

Leave a Reply

