• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 349,620 Visitors

Green Works Natural Laundry Review

I’ll admit it…

I’m over 30, and I still can’t quite do laundry well.

By that I mean, I’m not that great at getting stains out of clothes.  I know you’re supposed to pre-treat stains as soon as they occur, and there’s some magical combination of soak time and certain cleaning agents that can do the trick for almost anything from food stains to tar.  But, I must have missed out on that class in Home Ec.

My grandmother has a knack for getting old dingy whites particularly bright and cheery.  I don’t know how she does it, but she can get almost any article of laundry clean…and her formula almost always involves bleach.

As much as I love bright and clean whites, I also don’t like having toxic chemicals in my home.  Ya know, stuff that can cause blindness, like bleach.

I’m a huge proponent of green cleaning products in the home not just because they’re good for our local environment, but because they’re safer for babies and children.

Yet, many “green” laundry products just don’t make the cut when it comes to getting the laundry clean. 

I was eager to try Green Works’ new laundry detergent and stain remover to see if they pass the test for that delicate combination between being safe and green as well as effective on cleaning laundry.  Here’s how those products fared in my home:

The Clean Test

I treated two white laundry articles with the green works stain remover and let them sit for a couple of minutes before starting a load of whites.  I added the green works liquid laundry detergent to a medium load with the pre-treated articles.

Toddler’s white crew socks (BEFORE)

Toddler’s white crew socks (AFTER)

My great-grandmother’s embroidered flour sack dish cloth stained with mango salsa (BEFORE)

My great-grandmother’s embroidered flour sack dish cloth stained with mango salsa (AFTER)

GLAD:

The detergent works…laundry gets clean.  The directions for both products are simple, and they’re both easy to use.  The liquid detergent is good for over 30 loads of laundry.

SAD:

Fragrance with essential oils is used to created scents.  Why not just essential oils?  The effect is a rather potent scent that may be an irritant to newborns or people with sensitive skin.  Dyes are added to the liquid detergent, and it would be a far greater product sans dyes that are also a potential irritant and additional chemicals.  On a brighter note, Green Works created two other detergent options available, lavender scent and free & clear (that doesn’t have dyes or fragrance!)

SUMMARY:

Overall, I LOVE that the maker’s of Clorox are on the green bandwagon.  More companies should take note and follow suit.  In the future, I’d love to see them create a laundry product that is truly 100% natural, instead of 99%.  However, this is truly a huge stride in the right direction.  I think I’d like to try the Green Works Free & Clear–that may be a wonderful combination of green cleaning product without the extras that would be perfect for my family.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour campaign by Mom Central on behalf of Green Works and received a bottle of natural laundry detergent and a bottle of stain remover to facilitate my review.  Read my full disclosure statement.
Leave a Reply

