• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,608 Visitors

For Kids: Memory-Making Gifts

I’m not really into giving small kids impractical gifts for Christmas.  In fact, I’ve almost always made a point to give my nieces and nephews great books or something else that’s practical and useful and perhaps educational.

My fondest Christmas memory from childhood was the first year I made Christmas cookies with my grandmother.  On my 6th birthday, we made petit coat tails (a shortbread cookie with delicate icing flours), Russian tea cakes, sugar cookies, and Esses (“S”-shaped).

I felt so grown-up wearing an apron and using the icing bag on the delicate cookies.

Child to Cherish, a company that is excellent at creating innovative memory-making keepsakes, created a new “Little Baker” suitcase collection designed by Patricia Lowe. There’s 6 suitcases available: 3 that are perfect gifts from parents or aunts and uncles (boy, girl, Christmas), and 3 that are specifically designed as gifts from grandmas (boy, girl, Christmas).

We got to try their adorable red Christmas-themed suitcase with tree, gingerbread man, and star cookie cutter shapes, a toddler-sized wooden rolling pin, and a toddler-sized wooden spoon.  The suitcase also includes a red apron with the sweet embroidery “Little Baker,” and 4 cookie recipes for Christmastime.

The day before we baked cookies, I let Calvin use flour and water to make dough with the Little Baker set.

The wooden spoon and rolling pin were the perfect size for a toddler’s small hands.  My son loved measuring, pouring, and stirring dry ingredients.

We made whole-wheat flour chocolate chip cookies with sukenot over the weekend.  Calvin Mommy insisted that he wore his red apron while he baked, because it is just too adorable.

Calvin enjoyed tasting the result of his labor.  I let him have one very small cookie, and he washed it down with raw milk.

I’m looking forward to trying some tasty gluten-free cookie recipes with the tools in the Little Baker Suitcase later this month, and every year around Christmas.

This is a wonderful gift to enrich lasting memories around the holidays with your child.  The Child to Cherish Little Baker Suitcase retails for $42.99.

Child to Cherish not only creates wonderful gifts to capture memories, but they have gift options to help make the earth a little greener: Plant a Christmas Tree for Me.  Their mini greenhouse is complete with a Christmas tree pellet and instructions.  All you need to add is water and sunlight.  Simple, right?

At 3 and 1/4inches tall with a red-ribbon topper, it’s perfect to hang on the tree the night before Christmas.  The Plant a Christmas Tree for Me retails for $6.99.

WIN IT!

One winner  will receive a Plant a Tree for Me, (retail value $6.99).  Stay in the know and win a Nest Egg by becoming a Child to Cherish fan on Facebook.

To enter, leave a comment relevant to this post prior to December 21st at 11:59 p.m.  Please follow the contest rules and avoid any generalized comments, or you will be disqualified.

FOR A SECOND ENTRY: complete a quick 10-question reader demographic survey. Then, leave a second comment telling me that you did.

FOR A THIRD ENTRY: Blog or Tweet about the Holiday Gift Guide (or about this giveaway), then leave a second comment telling me that you tweeted or blogged with a link to your tweet/post.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
A Little Baker Suitcase and a Plant a Christmas Tree for Me were provided for the purpose of this review.  Read Traveling with Baby’s complete disclosure policy.

*UPDATE*

Congrats to the winner, #1 Leslie!

17 Responses

  1. I, too, like making gifts that are memorable, or getting kids educational gifts. Some of my favorite books to give as gifts are The Giving Tree, Guess How Much I Love You, & a Wizard of Oz 3-D Pop-up book by Robert Sabuda. I also love Leap Frog toys for educational gifts!

  2. Wow-my 2 yr old niece would love plainting a Xmas tree and seeing it grow. What a cool gift. Making memories is better than buying gifts.

  3. This is such a cute idea, something that continues to live on beyond Christmas.

    I am a Child to Cherish facebook fan (Kathleen S. W.)

  4. I took your demographic survey

  5. Trees- got to love a gift that will probably outlive you, and clean the air. We’re battling a proposed biomass plant in our town, so I would love the idea of a living tree to give away!

  6. I took the survey 🙂

  7. this is such a cute idea. Both of my daughters would love this
    harborlad@optonline.net

  8. Hey, I remember that flannel shirt! I love plaid shirts! LOL!

  9. This is my son’s first Christmas so I’d love the “Plant a Christmas Tree for Me”. What a great idea! He can take a photo with it every Christmas…start a new holiday tradition!

  10. I took your demographic survey a few weeks ago.

  11. This year is my daughters second Christmas and she is able to do so much.. She loves trees and maybe it will give her a sense of accomplisment to recieve this tree and plant it with mommy!!!

  12. I think the grow your own Christmas tree is great – I wonder how quickly it grows?

  13. I try to give practical gifts too. I give lots of books, craft supplies, and cooking sets.

  14. Child to Cherish has such sweet keepsakes! The Plant a Christmas Tree for Me would be a great gift for my daughter. She could watch it grow along with her!

  15. I already completed the quick 10-question reader demographic survey.

  16. This is such a cute idea, something that continues to live on beyond Christmas.

    I am a Child to Cherish facebook fan Rajee Pandi

  17. Hey,

    pleeease write more articles dealing with For Kids: Memory-Making Gifts Traveling with Baby. i love this topic!!!

    Avril Debusk

Leave a Reply

