• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 347,608 Visitors

Another Year Older and Wiser

Guess what?  Today’s my birthday!  The woman who gave birth to me actually forgot, and she thought it was yesterday. I’m not THAT old…

There were 3 birthday celebrations that were especially memorable to me.

1. I was about to turn 6, and my grandparents drove me from Dallas, Texas to Disneyland in Anaheim, California.  I had an incredible one-day adventure with them.  We continued driving through a tree in the Redwood National Forest in northern California, and we ended up in their home in eastern Washington.  On my actual birthday, I decorated the tree and helped my grandmother bake and decorate Christmas cookies.  That evening, I wore a brand new birthday dress, and I celebrated with my family.  It wasn’t just an incredible birthDAY, it was a memorable birthday MONTH!

2. My first year in college at the University of Texas at Austin, my friends Christa, Kenan, Stephanie, and Christina from Air Force ROTC threw me a surprise party complete with a german chocolate cake.  The party was a welcome break from studying for final exams.  They were “family” away from home–incredibly sweet and thoughtful.  I’ll never forget them and how they lifted my spirits!

3.   In 2006, my last birthday before I became Calvin’s mama, we spent a week visiting a friend in Nashville.  On the night of my birthday, we enjoyed a homemade meal of chicken cacciatore and a tiramisu cheesecake from the Cheesecake Factory.  When Steve brought the candlelit cheesecake to the table, I was serenaded by 7 guys…half of whom were professional recording artists.  Ladies, it doesn’t get any better than that!

This year, it’s gonna be low key, and I wouldn’t want anything else.  After a hectic-crazy-pull-my-hair-out couple of weeks at the office, I want nothing more than to do…NOTHING.

I’m planning to bake homemade meatballs served on a bed of spinach leaves and sprinkled with asiago cheese.  I’ll enjoy dinner at home with my two guys.  Once Calvin is tucked in bed for the evening, Steve and I will curl up on the couch and watch a movie via Netflix.  Perfect evening.  Perfect birthday.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
3 Responses

  1. I hope you had a wonderful birthday!

  2. Happy Birthday to You!!!! What wonderful memories.

    I love the snow too!

  3. Happy birthday, Dolly!

Leave a Reply

