• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 346,393 Visitors

Walmart Christmas Dinner for 8 for $30 {Giveaway}

Have you made your shopping and preparation plans for Christmas dinner?  Is the current economy affecting how you will plan and spend on holiday meal preparations?

This December, Walmart is offering a budget-savvy option to help moms entertain while staying within a reasonable budget.  With options to create a Christmas meal for 8 at the price as little as $20 and a New Year’s meal for 10 for under $40, who could say no?

Chef Aaron Sanchez, co-host of Food Network’s, Chefs vs. City, has teamed up with Wal-Mart to create easy and affordable recipes for entertaining your guests this season.

I’m eager to try the green bean & pecan casserole and the chipotle mashed potatoes.  (Drooling on the keyboard…)

Walmart’s $30 Christmas feast for eight starts with family-favorite ingredients, including the following:

  • One 10-pound spiral cut half-ham
  • Three 8-ounce cans Del Monte Green Beans
  • One 10-pound bag of Russet potatoes
  • One 12-count package of Sara Lee dinner rolls
  • One 10 inch Pumpkin Pie

Of course, if Walmart had consulted a nutritionist or a doctor mom (I know of such a doctor mom!), there might be different ingredients on that feast list.

I’m not a fan of anything ham or pork since it’s processed and laden with chemicals that aren’t necessary or beneficial to the body (quite the opposite, actually).  So, instead I’d recommend a turkey or prime rib on that menu.

Also, not a fan of bleached white flour–it’s just gluten and paste to add inflammation to the body and impede nutrient absorption and digestion.  Instead, I’d recommend creating homemade stuffed mushrooms or even sour dough based rolls (the fermentation process of sour dough makes it digestible and non-inflammatory to the body).

As for the pumpkin pie, I’d recommend making a buttery and delicious gluten-free pie from scratch.  In fact, I’d like to make this one from Gluten Free Cooking.  Making a pie from scratch might take more time and preparation, but it will cost less than purchasing a pre-made white flour pie–and it will probably taste 10 times better!

Even so, I know I can stretch out a dollar with coupons and sales flyers to create a fabulous holiday feast for my family with healthy and delicious dishes.

YOUR TURN:

What are you planning to serve for your Christmas or holiday dinner?  What have you done to save money during the 2009 holiday season?

WIN IT!

Two winners will receive a gift card to Walmart valued at $30.

To enter, leave a comment relevant to this post prior to January 2nd at 11:59 p.m.  Please follow the contest rules and avoid any generalized comments, or you will be disqualified.

FOR A SECOND ENTRY: Blog about this giveaway, then leave a comment with a link to your post.

FOR A THIRD ENTRY: Tweet (include @drdolly) about this giveaway, then leave a second comment telling me that you tweeted with a link to your tweet.

Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour campaign by Mom Central on behalf of Wal-Mart.  In addition, I received a Walmart gift certificate to thank me for taking the time to participate and two to offer as a give away.  Read my full disclosure policy.
*UPDATE*

Congratulations to the winners (#32) Cheryl W, and (#26) Sky!

39 Responses

  1. OOh, Chipotle Mashed Potatoes sound incredible!

  2. We plan to make it simple and have steaks for our holiday dinner.

    To save money during this holiday season, we’ve been buying our groceries at Walmart instead of the grocery store near our house. It has definitely made a difference.

  3. We serve a traditional meal for for holiday dinners — ham or turkey, gravy, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, and/or stuffing, and maybe some cranberry relish, and pecan pie 🙂 I save money by taking advantage of store sales with coupons and freezing bulk items. *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  4. For Christmas dinner we are doing baked chicken and green beans and roasted potatoes. For dessert, I am not sure yet, possibly something as simple as ice cream. We are trying to take it easy this year!

    To save money I usually look at the circulars to help plan my menus and use many coupons either clipped or that I receive from the register in previous purchases. We also have been eating at home much more than in the past–it’s healthier and cheaper!

  5. I am making a turkey, mashed potatoes, roasted acorn squash, and stuffing. I saved money by using coupons

  6. We will be serving non-traditional ethnic food this holiday. We’ve got back with gifts and we shopped at Wal-Mart to save money. Yeah!

  7. We are actually going to my mom’s house for Christmas dinner. I am bringing a few dishes, but I used tons of coupons to save money on the ingredients.

  8. That’s a nice looking ham!

  9. I’m in! Did you know your blog is snowing? Of course you do. Cute!

  10. I plan on serving Lasagna, a nice tossed salad and garlic bread on Christmas Day.
    I save money by clipping coupons and watching the sales papers.

  11. I tweeted.

  12. We are having a baked ham, green bean casserole, smashed potatoes, corn and apple pie.

    I saved money by hitting sales 🙂

  13. I went to a little family restaurant with my mom and had veal cutlet. Not very traditional. I use coupons and by clearance clothing.

    lkish77123 at gmail dot com

  14. Their meal plan sounds great! We’re having ham, turkey and green bean… for dinner this holiday!

  15. for christmas we had the usual ham, baked beans, scalloped potatoes, lots of cookies and pies!

    To save money I shopped sales with coupons and we split the mean between different family members

  16. My mom cooked dinner this year. It was delicious…and just what my brothers ordered. Prime Rib, baked potatoes and salad. I think I’m cooking on New Years Day. Hopefully my in-laws will come over and we’ll have a veggie lasagna. Yum!

  17. We had turkey and ham for holiday dinner and i tried to use reward site online when doing my shopping to get some extras

  18. tweeted – sweetbabygifts – tweet 193

  19. We had ham, homemade macaroni and cheese, cajun green beans, and pumpkin pie for our Christmas dinner shared with my parents. It was really yummy!

  20. We switched it up this year and had prime rib, baked potatoes, roasted sweet potatoes, green beans, and a green salad and pumpkin pie. The prime rib was actually 50% off at Safeway– yay! I always use coupons when shopping.

  21. tweeted,thanks for the extra chance to win!

  22. We had an awesome Mustard brown sugar glazed baked ham with mashed potatoes, corn and cranberry walnut corn bread dressing. We also had a host of desserts too.

  23. Tweeted this giveaway

  24. I didn’t cook, we went to my sister’s. She made ham, mashed potatoes, corn, rolls, all sorts of good stuff. Thanks for the great giveaway!

  25. tweet

  26. We had ham! It turned out great, our family favorite!

  27. I tweeted!

  28. We had Swedish smorgasbord at my Mother-in-laws. When I was a kid it was Polish pierogies and salmon cakes.

  29. Since my family aren’t huge ham or turkey fans, we had steak with baked potatoes, broccoli and salad. I saved money by buying whatever’s on sale in store flyers.

  30. Our Christmas dinner was ham with mashed potatoes, string beans, corn, dinner rolls, brussels sprouts, and an apple pie! I save money by always buying things on sale, whether it’s food, clothes or shoes!

Leave a Reply

