• Welcome!


    Chiropractor Mama Dr. Dolly and professional photographer Elisa B. share about adventures in intentional and natural parenting while living in Virginia's beautiful Blue Ridge.
  • Popular Reads

  • Shop

  • Categories

    • Alltop. We're kind of a big deal.
  • Stats

    • 344,887 Visitors

Sweet Picks: Nature’s Peak {Giveaway} + Recipe

I love trying new healthy and delicious recipes for my family.  One of my favorite things to change up are fruit smoothies…I can’t imagine a better way to help my son get through the irritations of teething!

Recently, we were able to try Nature’s Peak premium frozen fruit.  I was sent a 16 oz. resealable bag of  Paradise Fruit Medley (kiwi, mangos, peaches, pineapple, and cantaloupe) and a bag of  sunburst mango.

When we came home from our holiday travels, our fridge was practically bare.  My travel-weary and hungry boy kept asking for something to eat.  He went to a cupboard to pull out his smoothie cup, and asked for a smoothie.  How could I refuse?

We had cleaned out almost everything perishable before we went out of town.  However, I did have some orange juice, some plain yogurt that we’d brought with us, and creamy coconut milk.  I added those ingredients plus some Nature’s Peak sunburst mango to whip up a crowd-pleasing smoothie.

While it was blending, my son danced around the kitchen and squealed “SMOOTHIE!” with glee.  As soon as I poured it into his cup (oh, and he didn’t think I was doing that quite fast enough) he slurped it down with a straw in less than a minute.  Incredible.

I love Nature’s Peak frozen fruit because they are particular with the quality of selection, and they don’t add any sugar.  Huge props for those features!

There are 12 varieties of frozen fruit and fruit blends available.  I think I’d like to try the Berry Quartet with strawberries, raspberries, blueberries, and blackberries for a berry cobbler, or spooned over my buckwheat pancakes.

Nature’s Peak premium frozen fruit retails from $3 to $6, depending on the variety (and of course, some grocery stores vary in price).

Here’s a recipe that I hope to try this week–it was slightly modified from the recommended recipe on the bag of Sunburst Mango–my version doesn’t use added jam.

Mango Black Bean Salsa Recipe

(Dr. Dolly’s variation)

Ingredients:

  • 1 (15.5 oz.) can organic black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 (10 oz.) pkg. frozen organic sweet corn, cooked according to package instructions, drained and cooled
  • 1/2 cup chopped red pepper
  • 1/3 cup chopped red onion
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped cilantro
  • 2 cups Nature’s Peak Sunburst Mangoes, chopped into 1/4-inch cubes
  • 2-3 T fresh squeezed lime juice (juice from 1 lime)
  • 1/4 cup Agave nectar
  • 1-2 serrano peppers, seeded, chopped, to taste
  • dash of sea salt to taste

Combine all ingredients in medium bowl.  Refrigerate until ready to use.  Serve with fresh tortilla chips or as an accompaniment to grilled fish or poultry.

Yield:  6 cups

Prep Time:  15 minutes

Available in your grocer’s freezer (select locations only).  For a complete listing of locations, please visit DeBroff’s DeBriefs.

Visit Nature’s Peak for more yummy recipes.

YOUR TURN:

What’s your favorite smoothie or dish that uses tasty premium fruit?

WIN IT!

Two (2) winners will receive a coupon for 1 FREE package of Nature’s Peak frozen fruit.

To enter, leave a comment relevant to this post prior to January 15th at 11:59 p.m.  Please follow the contest rules and avoid any generalized comments, or you will be disqualified.

FOR A SECOND ENTRY: Blog about this giveaway, then leave a comment with a link to your post.

FOR A THIRD ENTRY: Tweet (include @drdolly) about this giveaway, then leave a second comment telling me that you tweeted with a link to your tweet.

I wrote this review while participating in a blog tour campaign by Mom Central on behalf of Nature’s Peak and received a sample to facilitate my candid review as well as two coupons to giveaway. In addition, Mom Central sent me a gift card to thank me for taking the time to participate.
Subscribe // Twitter me: drdolly
*UPDATE Congratulations to the winners: Nicole D. and Carol.
11 Responses

  1. My favorite smoothie is actually anything that remotely gives a result like a Strawberry Julius.

  2. I love good fruit, my kids like strawberry banana smoothies. Thanks for the chance to win.

  3. I make blueberry smoothies with the blueberries that we grow- beside the berries, I add yogurt and Dr. Schulze’s super food
    ejxd95@gmail.com

  4. I love to chop fresh fruit (mangos, kiwi, etc…) and make a salsa to put over gilled fish.

    Nycole
    knycks1@aol.com

  5. I love mango pineapple smoothies. mmmm

  6. I love to make strawberry shortcake with frozen fruit. Thanks!

  7. I love banana mango smoothies, they’re delicious.

  8. im always loking for good fruit for my toddler. its always hard to tell if she’s going to be interested in the fruit of the day & frozen saves wasted fruit she;s not eating.

Leave a Reply

